Bruce Cup

The Bruce Cup, which is the School Sports Australian 12 and under Championships sees the best ACT players challenge themselves against the best players in Australia.

The Bruce Cup is now a national competition with all eight states and territories competing. The team based competition has a long and proud tradition with many of Australia finest players beginning their international careers at this event.

For further information regarding trials for the Bruce Cup team please visit the School Sport ACT website

For further information about School Sports Australia tennis competitions, please visit their website.


The Bruce Cup was donated by Henry (Harry) Bruce in 1938 to encourage an interstate school tennis competition between Queensland and New South Wales. New South Wales won the first event held in 1939. Harry Bruce was a Queensland politician who was elected to both the Queensland and Australian Parliaments. He was the Queensland Secretary of Public Instruction from 1938-41.

From 1939 until 1962 The Bruce Cup was an under 15 competition. In 1963 it became a primary school event when the Jack Pizzey Cup was introduced for secondary school competition. The event continued as a competition between Queensland and New South Wales until the 1980s when other states joined.

At the 1948 competition Ken Rosewall played Roy Emerson and met his future wife Wilma McIvor. Bill Gilmore, arguably Australia’s finest tennis official was also a member of the NSW team. Rod Laver, Australia’s greatest male tennis player, represented Queensland in 1952. Lew Hoad, Fred Stolle, John Alexander, Phil Dent, Wally Masur, Robyn Ebbern, Jan Lehane and Gail Sherriff all represented their state in the Bruce Cup. More recently Jason Stoltenberg, Pat Rafter, Mark Woodforde, Todd Woodbridge, Mark Phillippoussis, Scott Draper, Rachael McQuillian, and Alicia Molik have represented their state and performed with distinction on the international scene. Many current Australian players including junior Wimbledon champions, Luke Saville and Ashleigh Barty have started their careers at the Bruce Cup.