Australian Schools Tennis Challenge

The Australian Schools Tennis Challenge has been the premier secondary school team tennis event in the country since 1996. This event provides an opportunity for the best secondary school teams to come together to play each other and celebrate their achievements on a national stage.

2020 Australian Schools Tennis Challenge

At this stage the event is still planned to go ahead but is under constant review given the current situation and potential ongoing restrictions due to COVID-19. More information will be provided in due course.

Dates: Sunday 29 November – Thursday 3 December 2020

Venue: Albury Tennis Association, Townsend Street, Albury, NSW


  • All secondary schools (due to the cancellation of many school sport competitions and state qualifying events in 2020).
  • Successful entries will be based on team results and player rankings/ratings in each state/territory.
  • All players must be born in 2003 or later. This is to comply with the International School Sports Federation (ISF) rule for entry into their events (held bi-yearly).
  • Players must be enrolled as students at their school.

Entries: Complete and return this entry form before Friday 25 September 2020.

Local Sporting Champions Grant

Sport Australia’s Local Sporting Champions program provides financial assistance for coaches, officials and competitors aged 12-18 participating in state, national or international championships. We encourage all players and team managers/coaches to apply before attending the ASTC to be eligible. Visit the following link for more information about the grants eligibility criteria.

The John Newcombe Sportsmanship Award

The ‘Newk’ Award is a scholarship to attend the John Newcombe Tennis Ranch in Texas and is awarded to one boys and one girls team during the competition.

ISF World Schools Tennis Championships

The International School Sport Federation event is held every odd year and School Sport Australia invites the winning teams from the Australian School Tennis Challenge to represent Australia at the event.



2019 Australian Schools Tennis Challenge – Boys’ results
2019 Australian Schools Tennis Challenge – Girls’ results
2018 Australian Schools Tennis Challenge – Boys’ results
2018 Australian Schools Tennis Challenge – Girls’ results

Honour Board

Year Girls’ champion team Boys’ champion team
1996 Stuartholme School (QLD) Marryatville High School (SA)
1997 Wesley College (Vic) Marryatville High School (SA)
1998 Marryatville High School (SA) St Joseph’s Gregory Terrace (Qld)
1999 Kingcoppal-Rose Bay School (NSW) Essendon Keilor College (Vic)
2000 Kingcoppal-Rose Bay School (NSW) Marryatville High School (SA)
2001 Clayfield College (Qld) Marryatville High School (SA)
2002 Clayfield College (Qld) Applecross Senior High School (WA)
2003 Clayfield College (Qld) Essendon Keilor College (Vic)
2004 Marryatville High School (SA) Essendon Keilor College (Vic)
2005 St Margarets Anglican Girls School (Qld) Coombabah State High School (Qld)
2006 St Margarets Anglican Girls School (Qld) Marryatville High School (SA)
2007 Not held
2008 Pymble Ladies College (NSW) Haileybury (Vic)
2009 Sunshine Coast Grammar (Qld) Prince Alfred College (SA)
2010 Meriden (NSW) Prince Alfred College (SA)
2011 Meriden (NSW) Leumeah High School (NSW)
2012 Meriden (NSW) Prince Alfred College (SA)
2013 Maribyrnong College (Vic) Maribyrnong College (Vic)
2014 Meriden (NSW) Brisbane Boys College (Qld)
2015 Meriden (NSW) Maribyrnong College (Vic)
2016 Meriden (NSW) Maribyrnong College (Vic)
2017 Meriden (NSW) Brisbane Boys College (Qld)
2018 Kelvin Grove State College (Qld) The McDonald College (NSW)
2019 Kelvin Grove State College (Qld) Applecross Senior High School (WA)

Quick Links

> ASTC 2020 entry form

> ASTC 2019 program


Ben Dew
ASTC Coordinator
E: [email protected]
M: 0466 571 776

For all other general school enquiries and assistance please contact your local School Development Coordinator or e-mail us at [email protected].