Ken Rosewall

  • Age89
  • Born 2 November 1934
  • Birth PlaceSydney, New South Wales
  • PlaysRight-handed
  • Playing StatusRetired
  • Australian Tennis Hall Of Fame1995
  • International Tennis Hall Of Fame1980
“I think there will be extra pressure on him to stand up to being the No.1 player in Australia.”

— Ken Rosewall, 10 Jan 2015

» Kyrgios now the hunted, says Rosewall


Australian 1953, 1955, 1971-72
Roland Garros 1953, 1968
United States 1956, 1970


Australian 1953, 1956, 1972
Roland Garros 1953, 1968
Wimbledon 1953, 1956
United States 1956, 1969


United States 1956


1953-56, 1973, 1975


Known as “Muscles” to his friends, Ken Rosewall is one of the Australian greats of tennis.

In a career that continued into his 40s, Rosewall amassed 18 major titles and achieved a career doubles Grand Slam.

One of the finest players to not win Wimbledon, Rosewall made it to the singles final at the All England Club on four occasions (1954, 1956, 1970 and 1974).

While he wasn’t the strongest player on court, Rosewall used canny placement and court speed to make up for any lack of physical presence. He was renowned for his enviable backhand, balance and excellent anticipation.

He famously teamed with Lew Hoad the pair was born 21 days apart to defend the Davis Cup in 1953. Rosewall finished with an impressive 19-3 win-loss record in Davis Cup and was a member of winning Australian teams in 1953, 1955, 1956 and 1973.

The centre court at Sydney’s Olympic Tennis Centre is named Ken Rosewall Arena in his honour.

Ken Rosewall in the news

Rosewall on De Minaur: “His game has come up to another level”
Ken Rosewall with  Chilean captain Jaime Fillol at the United Cup.
6 January, 2024

The legendary Ken Rosewall is watching on proudly as Alex de Minaur returns to the arena named in his honour for the United Cup semifinals.
Read more
Ken Rosewall honoured on the Australian Open 2023 coin
Ken Rosewall with the Australian Open 2023 coin. Picture: Tennis Australia
15 January, 2023

Australian tennis legend Ken Rosewall is being honoured on the official Australian Open 2023 coin.
Read more
A Wimbledon dream: Goolagong Cawley and Newcombe look back
Evonne Goolagong and John Newcombe were crowned Wimlbedon singles champions in 1971; Getty Images
3 July, 2021

On the 50th anniversary of their 1971 Wimbledon singles triumphs, Evonne Goolagong Cawley and John Newcombe reflect on a golden era for the sport.
Read more
Celebrating US Open anniversaries of Aussie champions
Margaret Court, Lleyton Hewitt, Sam Stosur and Ken Rosewall are all celebrating US Open anniversaries this year. Pictures: Getty Images
31 August, 2020

Several Australian champions - of both today and yesteryear - are celebrating significant anniversaries of US Open triumphs this year.
Read more
read more articles