3 May 2021 | Tennis SA

Broadview (City/Hills) and Renmark Tintra Lawn (Rural) have been announced as South Australia’s Most Outstanding Tennis Clubs in 2021.

While professional athletes Alex Bolt (Murray Bridge, SA) and Charlotte Kempenaers-Pocz were awarded South Australia’s most prestigious player awards, the Burr and Boyce Medals.

The awards among others were presented at the Tennis SA Awards Dinner held at the InterContinental Adelaide in front of 320 attendees on Saturday night.

“The Tennis SA Awards Dinner was a great celebration of the outstanding achievements of our players, coaches, clubs, communities, volunteers and officials over the past 12 months,” Tennis SA CEO Debbie Sterrey said.

“It was wonderful to have been able to celebrate in person this year and to recognise our tennis communities around the state.

“Our congratulations to all of the award winners and finalists for their hard work and dedication to our sport.”

Broadview Tennis Club prides itself on having a positive, safe and welcoming environment for its members. Overall membership numbers continue to grow through a wide variety of well organised programs, with female participation levels hitting new heights in 2021.

Broadview Tennis Club President Martin Richards was excited to accept the award in the club’s one hundredth year.

“We are absolutely thrilled to have won with the Most Outstanding Club award for the City and Hills,” Richards said.  

“We have worked hard to create the Broadview family atmosphere and we are so honoured to accept this award as we celebrate our 100th anniversary in 2021.

“This award is a testament to our dedicated volunteers and club members.”

For Renmark Tintra Lawn Tennis Club, this award is their second in three years. The club delivers a variety of programs, with every effort made to ensure that they are accessible to all members of the community. The club has forged bonds with local primary and high schools, creating a highly successful school to club pathway.

“We are honoured to accept the rural award for Most Outstanding Tennis Club,” Renmark Tintra Lawn Tennis Club President John Pick said.

“We have really focussed on being a dynamic, progressive and inclusive club, and we can see that work paying off with membership retention and growth.

“This award is a credit to our wonderful committee, members, sponsors and local council who we would very much like to thank.”

Reade Park, Seacliff, Somerton Park and Woodville Orion Tennis Clubs were contenders for the City/Hills accolade, whilst Clare, Mannum, Normanville and Port Lincoln Tennis Clubs were finalists in the rural category.

Jill Sutter and Jan MacDonald were inducted into the South Australian Legends Club. Jasmine Adams and Mia Tsoukalas were joint winners of the Gwen Thiele Memorial Trophy for most outstanding 18-and-under female, while Edward Winter won the Don Turnbull Memorial Trophy for most outstanding 18-and-under male.

The City of Tea Tree Gully won the award for Most Outstanding Council or Government Department, while Australian representative team member for Players with an Intellectual Disability Andriana Petrakis was announced as the Most Outstanding Player with a Disability.

Sam Wall took home the Coaching Excellence – Talent Development award, while Domenic Marafiote won the Coaching Excellence – Club award. Cobdogla Primary School was named the Most Outstanding School.

The full list of award winners is as follows:

South Australian Legends Club inductees 
Jan MacDonald and Jill Sutter

Burr Medal (best and fairest male tennis player)
Alex Bolt

Boyce Medal (best and fairest female tennis player)
Charlotte Kempenaers-Pocz

Don Turnbull Memorial Trophy (best male 18-and-under tennis player)
Edward Winter

Gwen Thiele Memorial Trophy (best female 18-and-under tennis player)
Mia Tsoukalas and Jasmine Adams

Most Outstanding Competition – Rural
Riverland Lawn Tennis Association Competition

Most Outstanding Competition – City/Hills
Denman Tennis Club (Lower Mitcham, SA)

Most Outstanding Event
State Foundation Cup (Berri, SA)

Most Outstanding Council or Government Department
City of Tea Tree Gully

Most Outstanding Inclusion Program
Somerton Park Tennis Club (South Australian Blind Tennis Program)

Most Outstanding School
Cobdogla Primary School (Cobdogla, SA)

Excellence in Officiating
Ian Curran

Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability
Andriana Petrakis

Most Outstanding 35+ Tennis Senior
Roger Sanderson

Coaching Excellence – Club
Domenic Marafiote

Coaching Excellence – Talent Development
Sam Wall

Volunteer Achievement Award – Rural
Eliza Handbury (Lucindale Tennis Club)

Volunteer Achievement Award – City/Hills
Kaylah Wilson (Greenacres Tennis Club)

Most Outstanding Tennis Club – Rural
Renmark Tintra Lawn Tennis Club

Most Outstanding Tennis Club – City/Hills
Broadview Tennis Club

State League Premiers 
Seacliff Tennis Club

Glenlea Tennis Club

State League Players of the Year  
Jack Schipanski (Glenlea Tennis Club)

Jasmine Adams (Seacliff Tennis Club)

State League Fair Play Awards
Andrew Tavella (Trinity Gardens Tennis Club)

Elim Yan (Glenlea Tennis Club)

Metro League Premiers 
Division 1: Memorial Drive Tennis Club

Division 2: Warradale Park Tennis Club

Division 3: Glenlea Tennis Club

Division 4: Seacliff Tennis Club

Division 1: Kingswood Tennis Club

Division 2: Para Hills Tennis Club

Metro League Strike Rate Awards
Division 1: Patrick Luke (Memorial Drive Tennis Club)

Division 2: Sebastian Swierk (Warradale Park Tennis Club)

Division 3: Gavin Zhang (Woodville Orion Tennis Club)

Division 4: Hemang Gaur (East Adelaide Payneham Tennis Club)

Division 1: Sarah Mildren (Glenlea Tennis Club)

Division 2: Keeral McKenzie (Peake Gardens Riverside Tennis Club)