20 November 2019 | Tennis NSW

The UTR AO2020 Wildcard Playoff was held recently at Wollongong City Tennis Centre.

The winners of the wildcard spots to travel to Melbourne are Alana Parnaby (VIC) and Bojana Marinkov (NSW) in the women’s and Benard Nkomba (NSW) and Blazo Djurovic (NSW) in the men’s. All four will receive flights and accommodation to Melbourne.

They will join the two finalists from the Queensland UTR event in the first round of the Melbourne UTR AO2020 Wildcard final on December 6. The two winners will then playoff (December 7) against two players awarded wildcards by the Tennis Australia National Selectors. Winners of this match will then be awarded the final two positions into the 16-player field for the Australian Open 2020 Wildcard Playoff to be played at Melbourne Park from December 9 to 15, 2019.

Thank you to the Tennis Wollongong and Wollongong City Tennis Centre for all their assistance and support leading into and during the event.

Thanks to Nathan Keys the Tournament Director from Tennis NSW, as well as the Tournament Referee, Physio, Chair Umpires, Line Umpires – thank you for all your efforts. Also a special thank you to the Tournaments and Officiating team from Tennis NSW, Michael Spry and Roxanne Wain for your efforts in setting up the event.

Congratulations to all players, we hope you enjoyed the UTR event format.


Results – Women’s Deciding Round 

[1] Bojana Marinkov (UTR10.77) d Rebecca Jones (UTR 9.98) 6-2 6-3
[2] Alana Parnaby (UTR 10.71) d Zara Brankovic (UTR 10.35) 7-6(3) 6-0


Results – Men’s Deciding Round 

[1] Benard Nkomba (UTR 13.17) d Tom Evans (UTR 12.01) 6-7(7) 6-4 10-5
Blazo Djurovic (UTR 11.38) d William Hatzis (UTR 11.00) 6-3 6-4