Tennis NSW Awards

The NSW Tennis Awards recognise clubs, organisations and individuals in the New South Wales tennis community. These awards align with the national Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards. Winners of a Tennis NSW Award, for which there is an equivalent Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards category, will be the Tennis NSW nominee for that category.

In 2021 the event will be held virtually and everyone in the NSW tennis community will have the opportunity to join and recognise the great work that has been taking place throughout NSW. The period of time we are recognising at this year’s awards is 1 November 2020 – 31 October 2021.

The Tennis NSW Awards are an important event to recognise the great people in our sport. The event will take place on Thursday 28 October, with more details on how to watch to come.

Tennis NSW will be recognising the following categories for this year’s Awards:

Award Category  Criteria 
Coaching Excellence – Club View Criteria
Coaching Excellence – Development View Criteria
Coaching Excellence – Performance View Criteria
Coaching Excellence – Operator View Criteria
Excellence in Officiating – George Fletcher Award View Criteria
Most Outstanding 30+ Tennis Senior View Criteria
Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability View Criteria
Most Outstanding Competition View Criteria
Most Outstanding Inclusion Initiative View Criteria
Most Outstanding School View Criteria
Most Outstanding Tennis Club or Venue – Metro View Criteria
Most Outstanding Tennis Club or Venue – Country View Criteria
Most Outstanding Tournament View Criteria
Supporting Tennis Government View Criteria 
Volunteer Achievement View Criteria
Junior Volunteer Achievement View Criteria
Junior Athlete of the Year – Female View Criteria
Junior Athlete of the Year – Male View Criteria
Jim O’Neill Service to Tennis (closed Award) Closed Award
NSW Player of the Year (closed Award) Closed Award

Nominations closed 5pm Sunday 19 September.

Voting Process

The voting and decision-making process to establish eventual finalists, and the winners, is conducted by a panel of selectors comprising honorary and paid administrators of Tennis NSW and Tennis Australia and various NSW sporting industry representatives from the likes of the Office of Sport and Recreation (State Government) and any other industry bodies relative to categories.

Requirements of Award Recipients

Successful nominees may be required to participate in marketing and promotional activities in the 12 months following the award.

Successful nominees in each category will be selected as the NSW nominee for the equivalent national award (if applicable). If the nominee is selected as a finalist for the Australian Tennis Award in their category they will be invited to attend the Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards.

Finalists of the award categories may be required to assist in the filming of a short video clip to be shown on the Tennis NSW website and Social Media. The finalists are encouraged to have the club/centre in an active environment with key members of the committee/management and coaching team available to speak. 


2019 Award Winners

Most Outstanding School

The McDonald College

Junior Volunteer Achievement Award

Alyssa Norris

Junior Female Athlete of the Year

Hayley Slocombe

Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Rinky Hijikata

George Fletcher Award – Excellence in Officiating

Matthew McAleer

Most Outstanding Australian Ranking Tournament

2019 NSW Country Championships – AMT/JT (Andrew Mitton and Wendy Saville)

Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability

Kelly Wren (Intellectual)

Most Outstanding 35+ Senior

Brenda Foster

Most Outstanding Tennis Club – Country

Byron Bay Tennis Club

Most Outstanding Tennis Club – Metropolitan

City Community Tennis – Pat Jensen

Supporting Tennis – Government

Cumberland Council

Coaching Excellence – Club

Gemma Eaton (Coast Community Tennis – Murwillumbah)

Coaching Excellence – Operator

Steve Loeffler

Coaching Excellence – Talent Development

Paul McNamara

Coaching Excellence – High Performance

Jarrad Bunt

Volunteer Achievement Award

Mary Baker

Jim O’Neill Service to Tennis NSW

Closed Award – Announced on the evening and chosen by TNSW Board

Dennis Sales

NSW Player of the Year

Closed Award – Announced on the evening and chosen by Awards Judging Panel

Alex De Minaur