Tennis Metro Sydney

Tennis Metro Sydney is established to provide advice to the Board and management relating to key strategic priorities for tennis in Metropolitan Sydney.

Tennis Metro Sydney is being established after a period of inactivity and following the Tennis Sydney Review conducted by Mike McLaughlin (Review). The TNSW Board has also endorsed in principle a revised Terms of Reference for Tennis Metro Sydney, which includes the following mission, duties and responsibilities for the committee:

  • provide strategic advice to the Board on tennis activities in Metropolitan Sydney and work closely with management on matters including but not limited to:
    • how the delivery and participation of tennis in Sydney can best represent the multicultural and socioeconomic make-up of the Greater Sydney region and to improve accessibility to the sport
    • supporting the development of a Metropolitan Sydney Facilities Strategy
    • the allocation and delivery of all TNSW-delivered tournament play, including the NSW Open
    • the delivery, management and development of a strong club competition framework and culture across Metropolitan Sydney
    • promote the advancement of tennis in Metropolitan NSW to uphold a positive environment for the tennis community
    • work towards implementing the recommendations of the Sydney Tennis Review as adopted by the Board.

Tennis Metro Sydney Management Committee:

  • Wayne Swaysland, Chair Metro Sydney
  • Wayne Pascoe, Tennis NSW Board Director
  • Ron Heinrich, Tennis NSW Board Director
  • Candice Heapes, White City and TNSW Schools Advisory Group
  • Ginette Porteous, Club Captain, Kooroora Tennis
  • Joe Porley, Brenan Park Tennis Centre, Smithfield
  • Michael Jackson, Tennis Macarthur
  • Paul McNamara, Paul’s Tennis Academy, Manly Vale
  • Suzy Ellis, Senior Vice President, Tennis Northern Beaches
  • Wil Jauco, Club Captain, Collaroy Tennis Club