6 December 2018 | Tennis NSW

More than 200 players participated in the 2018 NSW Junior Closed Championships across the three host venues of Springwood, Nepean and Hawkesbury over last weekend.

Players competed at a high level and displayed numerous acts of great sportsmanship throughout the weekend, which was fantastic to see.

The Junior Closed Champions is the culmination of each regions JDS series, where all players had qualified through to participate in the end of year event.


Event Winner Region Runner-Up Region
10/U Boys Singles Harry Purvis North West Ari Ganassin South East
10/U Girls Singles Caitlin Bourke North West Sandra Stojanovic Central West
10/U Boys Doubles Elijah Dikkenberg & Harry Sincock South West Finn McDonagh & Harry Purvis North West
10/U Girls Doubles Sahla McElwaine & Mia Tonga Northumberland Andrea Lavers & Janet Waddell Metropolitan Sydney
12/U Boys Singles Ashton McLeod Central West Leroy Sze Metropolitan Sydney
12/U Girls Singles Elly Leis South East Tess Caldicott North East
12/U Boys Doubles Leroy Sze & Chase Zhao Metropolitan Sydney Mason Louis & Aidan Purvis North West
12/U Girls Doubles Tess Caldicott & Stevie McDonagh North East Elly Leis & Hannah Phillips South East
14/U Boys Singles Vitorio Sardinha North West Nicholas Maleganeas South East
14/U Girls Singles Taya Powell North West Chloe Googh Northumberland
14/U Boys Doubles Thomas Garrett & Alex Morris Metropolitan Sydney Sunny Lopez & Jamie Podetti Metropolitan Sydney
14/U Girls Doubles Natasha Mitchell & Isabella Poposki South East Isabelle Moore & Taya Powell North West
16/U Boys Singles Riley Courtney Northumberland Jayden Shipley Northumberland
16/U Girls Singles Eliza Zyryanova Northumberland Tayla Brasier Central West
16/U Boys Doubles Riley Courtney & Jayden Shipley Northumberland Laurie Miller & Eddie Westfall Northumberland
16/U Girls Doubles Erica Wattus & Eliza Zyryanova Northumberland Mika Hosoi & Saskia Maurushat Northumberland