18 October 2017 | Tennis NSW

The 2017 NSW State Teams Championships were held at Cessnock District Tennis Club over the weekend, with 96 participants from all seven NSW regions, as well as the ACT taking part in the two-day event.

This event aims to replicate the team-based experiences of the Davis and Fed Cup and of more recent times the Laver Cup. During the weekend we showcased the best 10/U juniors, who went head to head in pursuit of the Dorn Fogarty Cup (Girls) and John Whittaker Cup (Boys).

It was fantastic to welcome John Whittaker and his wife, Robyn to Cessnock on Sunday. John made mention that this year was some of the best 10/U Tennis he had seen. Thanks to both John and Robyn for their ongoing support of the event.

A big theme for the weekend was respect of the game. It was pleasing to see this quality displayed all weekend by players, parents and team managers.
Individual players were awarded with certificates during the presentations for displaying the traits of commit, compete and respect.

The Dorn Fogarty Cup was won by the Metro Maroon Stormers and their Team Manager, Tyson Destefano. The John Whittaker Cup was won by the South East Waves and their Team Manager, James Poso.

Federal Member for Hunter, Joel Fitzgibbon was in attendance and spoke at the opening ceremony. We thank him for his continuous support of the State Teams Events when they are hosted at Cessnock.

Many thanks to Carol Langsford for the hours of work she put into this event. Thanks also to Referee for the weekend, Gordon Munro, who did a fantastic job.

Finally, a big thank

you to Will and Sonja O’Neil and their staff and volunteers at Cessnock for all of their hard work making the event a big success.


Dorn Fogarty Cup
Metro Maroon Stormers
1. Rianna Alame
2. Giselle Guillen
3. Kimiko Cooper
4. Renee Alame
Manager: Tyson Destefano

Metro Green Dynamite
1. Miranda Xu
2. Jessica Emanuel
3. Angela Cui
4. Lia Koulias
Manager: Sonja Anderson


John Whittaker Cup
South East Waves
1. Boyd Schreiber
2. Harrison Satara
3. Thomas Miller
4. Max Colbourne
Manager: James Poso

Northumberland Thunder
1. Toby Eyrl-Collins
2. Isaac Elson
3. Jack Keenan
4. Thomas McCullough-Hendriks
Manager: Joel Herbert

Player Development Awards:

Commit: Mason Louis – North West Wizards

Compete: Sebastien La Hei – Metro Maroon Stormers

Respect: Mia Wilkinson – North West Wizards

Respect Chloe Brasier – Central West Cyclones

Respect: Gloria Milosis – Metro Red Fireballs