26 June 2017 | Tennis NSW

The 14/u NSW State Teams event was held in Gosford on 24-25 June with 72 of the best players in NSW coming together to participate in the prestigious event. The NSW State Teams Championships provides players the opportunity to experience a Fed Cup and Davis Cup like format where team managers are on court to guide players through the event.

The girls and boys events were both won by Metropolitan teams, with the Metro Orange Flames taking out the boys event and the Ken Rosewall Cup, while the girls title and Lesley Bowrey Cup went to the Metro Red Fireballs.

The Metro Orange Flames faced off against the local Northumberland Thunder team in the Ken Rosewall Cup final, winning by 6 sets to 1. It was closer in the battle for the Lesley Bowrey Cup, with the Metro Red Fireballs defeating to Metro Golden Lightning by 5 sets to 3.

Lesley Bowrey CupĀ 


Lesley Bowrey Cup Champions

Metropolitan Red Fireballs

  • Subi Surenraj
  • Madeleine Whip
  • Dunja Dudic

Manager: Danny Zhai

Lesley Bowrey Cup Finalists

Metro Golden Lightning

  • Milan Krish
  • Monica Petrusevski
  • Tia Vuk-Luboya

Manager: Bree Calderwood


Ken Rosewall Cup

Ken Rosewall Cup Champions

Metro Orange Flames

  • Shuannon Tricerri
  • Matthew Quach
  • Elijah Cham

Manager: Dave Berthon

Ken Rosewall Cup Finalists

Northumberland Thunder

  • Cooper Griffiths
  • Lleyton Richards
  • Nicholas De Vivo

Manager: Derek Cagney


Individual Player awards
  • Eric Tripathi (Metro Green Dynamite) – Compete Award
  • Ashleigh Simes (A.C.T Velocity) – Compete Award
  • Jordan Hunter (North East Breakers) – Commit Award
  • Catherine Aulia ( Metro Orange Flames) – Commit Award
  • Sean Wang (Metro Green Dynamite) – Respect Award
  • Tayla Braiser (Central West Cyclones) – Respect Award


Images: Doug Whip