11 May 2017 | Tennis NSW

The 2017 Pizzey Cup was completed in Shepparton over the weekend, with NSW emerging victorious for the 9th consecutive year after going undefeated over the week.

The NSW team comprised of:

Scott Gardiner
Trent Marlin
Tom Evans
Andre De Oliveira
Stevie Young
Corey Clarke
Mark Papadopoulos
Taiyo Harada
Monique Burton
Grace Schumacher
Angelina Subotic Dordevic
Milan Krish
Mia Repac
Laura Wunderlich
Taylah Lawless
Catherine Aulia

Official scoresheets are attached in the Championship Report and are also available via or

2017 Pizzey Cup Team Final Standings

Place Team Ties Won Ties Lost Rubbers Won Rubbers Lost
1st NSW 6 0 83 25
2nd WA 5 1 72 36
3rd QLD 4 2 69 39
4th VIC 3 3 67 41
5th SA 2 4 54 54
6th TAS 1 5 31 77
7th ACT 0 6 2 106


In the individual event (Tennis Australia Cup) held in conjunction with the teams event, NSW’s Monique Burton finished runner-up to Victoria’s Jasmin Starr while Taylah Lawless claimed the consolation singles title.

You can view the entire draw and results from the Tennis Australia Cup and Kevin Horrigan Plate via

At the conclusion of the event, players were selected for the Australian Merit Team based on their performance throughout the whole week of competition using the ‘Sudlow’ points system. The team was announced and presented with medallions at the Presentation Dinner and for the first time we are inviting the team to come join us at Melbourne Park during the 2018 Australian Open.

2017 Australian Merit Team


Tristan Schoolkate WA

Patrick Harper QLD

Jayden Court QLD

William Hann WA

Jack Clements VIC

Tom Evans NSW

Connor Enslin WA

Gen Naraya WA

Trent Marlin NSW

David Abfalter SA



Jasmin Starr VIC

Monique Burton NSW

Grace Schumacher NSW

Megan Smith QLD

Danielle Morris QLD

Naomi McKenzie QLD

Steffi McDonald VIC

Tiana Glazbrook SA

Mia Repac NSW

Gabrielle Ioannou VIC

Luna Jokanovic WA