29 November 2018 | Tennis SA

South Australia took home three awards at the Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards held at the Crown Palladium, in Melbourne on Monday night.

On a night that recognises players, coaches, clubs, communities, volunteers and officials for their service to the sport, South Australia took out the Most Outstanding Tennis Club, the Volunteer Achievement Award and the Coaching Excellence Performance award, in front of the who’s who of the Australian tennis family.

Henley South Tennis Club (Henley South, SA) was announced as the Most Outstanding Tennis Club in Australia and in doing so, became the first South Australian club to have won the prestigious award. The club receives a grant worth $25,000.

“We are just so excited to have been named as the Most Outstanding Club,” said Liz Campbell, President Henley South Tennis Club.

“We are incredibly proud of the welcoming, fun and family-friendly atmosphere we have created at the club, and to have had that recognised on a national scale is very special.

“This award is a testament to our dedicated and hardworking committee, exceptional coaching team led by David Grainger and our loyal members who make up our Henley Hawks family.”

For over 25 years, John Pick (Renmark, SA) has dedicated his time to a variety of roles within the Riverland Tennis Association and Renmark Tintra Lawn Tennis Club, making him a very deserving winner of the Volunteer Achievement Award.

Putting his teaching career on hold, Pick has volunteered countless hours to ensure the survival and prosperity of tennis in the Riverland.

“It was a great feeling to be a part of the Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards and I think it was just a terrific night for the Riverland and South Australia,” Pick said.

“I was proud to be a part of the night and see, not only from a South Australian point of view, but from across Australia, the people who invest so much time to the game of tennis and the sport that they love.

“I don’t think the volunteers know how many hours they put in, but their families certainly do. Thank you to my wife, family, the Riverland community and Tennis SA for being so supportive and encouraging.”

Darren Cahill (Adelaide, SA) claimed the Coaching Excellence Performance award, following an outstanding three years coaching world No.1 Simona Halep (ROU).

“We are simply thrilled to be celebrating the achievements of our eight finalists and three winners at the Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards,” said Tennis SA CEO, Steven Baldas.

“These people are the heart and soul of our sport in South Australia, and for them to have been recognised on a national scale is incredible.

“Our heartfelt congratulations to Henley South Tennis Club, John Pick and Darren Cahill, as well as all of our finalists; we are so very proud.”

The full list of award winners is as follows:

Coaching Excellence Club
Adon Kronk, Mooloolaba Tennis Club, Qld

Most Outstanding School
Casuarina Street Primary School, Katherine East, NT

Coaching Excellence Development
Stephen Thompson, NSW

Excellence in Officiating
Simon Cannavan, Qld

Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability
Archie Graham, Qld

Volunteer Achievement Award
John Pick, SA

Junior Athlete of the Year – Male & Female
Destanee Aiava, Vic
Rinky Hijikata, NSW

Most Outstanding Professional Tournament
2017 Apis Canberra International, Canberra, ACT

Most Outstanding Australian Ranking Tournament
AGL Loy Yang Traralgon International, Vic

Most Outstanding 35+ Tennis Senior
Peter Froelich, Qld

Most Outstanding Tennis Club
Henley South Tennis Club, SA

Coaching Excellence –Performance
Darren Cahill, SA

Spirit of Tennis
Casey Dellacqua, WA

Newcombe Medal
Ashleigh Barty, Qld
Alex de Minaur, NSW