Tennis SA Life Membership

Tennis SA Life Membership requires that a person has contributed outstanding and exemplary service in a leadership capacity to Tennis SA or to tennis more generally in South Australia or Australia over at least a ten year period should be considered for a Life Membership.

This award recognises people who have demonstrated their contribution to the sport of tennis through devoted and significant service to any one or more of Tennis SA’s affiliated tennis clubs and/or associations and/or member organisations. Service to other tennis related bodies may also be recognised.

The Tennis SA Constitution limits the number of Life Memberships that can be awarded to a maximum of two in any one year.

Nominations for the Tennis SA Life Membership are to be made by letter to the Tennis SA CEO. All nominations will be assessed by the Tennis SA Board and endorsed by the Tennis SA Council.

Recipients will receive:

  • A Tennis SA Life Member certificate, pin and glassware gift
  • A complimentary invitation for them and one guest to attend, staged prior to the World Tennis Challenge (entry and reserve seat included) Wednesday evening session
  • the Ken McGregor Foundation Legends’ Lunch
  • the Volunteer Recognition Cocktail Function
  • Acknowledgement in the Tennis SA Life Members Honour Board, Annual Report and website

Nominations are invited to be submitted in writing to the CEO by either 30 April or 30 September of each year.

How to nominate:

Compose a letter to the Tennis SA Chief Executive Officer. Receipt can be by either post or email.

Key points to include in the letter:

  • Position(s) held at affiliate(s)
  • Years served in role(s) including dates eg. Club Secretary 1992-1995, President 1995 – 2005
  • Details of contribution to affiliate(s) and tennis in general
  • Achievements in the game of Tennis.

Some questions to answer in the letter might include:

  • What does this person mean to your club, association or region?
  • What contribution have they made that has greatly impacted your club, association or region?
  • Why does this person continue to be involved?
  • What brought them to your club, association or region in the beginning?
  • What key club events, competitions or functions have they been involved in?