21 December 2017 | Tennis SA

Former world No.2 Vera Zvonareva (RUS) is set to star in the City of Playford Tennis International women’s field which will also feature 13 players from inside the world’s top 200.

Zvonareva reached a career high singles ranking of world No.2 in 2010, following final appearances at Wimbledon and the US Open.

The Russian is also an accomplished doubles player and has been ranked as high as world No.9, winning doubles titles at the Australian Open and US Open, along with mixed doubles titles at Wimbledon and the US Open.

Following a two-year hiatus due to injury, getting married and giving birth to her first child, Zvonareva is on the comeback trail and will be looking for some solid results when she makes her debut at the Playford City Tennis Centre.

Joining Zvonareva will be Melbourne-born Laura Robson (GBR).

Having won the Wimbledon Junior Girls’ Championship at the age of 14, Robson began a rapid rise through the ranks before taking an extended break from the game due to a wrist injury in 2014-15.

Robson, the former world No.27, is now back on the tour and won an ITF title in Kurume, Japan earlier this year in May.

“We’re thrilled that such high calibre players are coming to compete at Playford’s state-of-the-art tennis centre,” Playford Mayor Glenn Docherty said.

“It just shows that our inaugural tournament is generating attention from some of the world’s best as a prelude to the Australian Open,” Docherty added.

“We couldn’t be more pleased to be welcoming such an outstanding women’s field to the City of Playford Tennis International,” Tennis SA CEO Steven Baldas said.

“We are very much looking forward to the tournament starting in eight days time,” Baldas added.

City of Playford Tennis International
Player acceptance list as at 21 December 2017



First name Last name Nation
114 Lin Zhu CHN
139 Jil Teichmann SUI
161 Anna Kalinskaya RUS
174 Stefanie Voegele SUI
178 Basak Eraydin TUR
179 Marie Bouzkova CZE
186 Valentini Grammatikopoulou GRE
187 Dalila Jakupovic SLO
188 Irina Khromacheva RUS
190 Bianca Andreescu CAN
192 Alexandra Dulgheru ROU
193 Kathinka Von Deichmann LIE
199 Ipek Soylu TUR
202 Miharu Imanishi JPN
203 Vera Zvonareva RUS
208 Junri Namigata JPN
227 Jaqueline Adina Cristian ROU
230 Laura Robson GBR

 Please note: list is subject to change