8 November 2017 | Tennis SA

Cobdogla Primary School (Cobdogla, SA) has been named the 2017 ANZ Tennis Hot Shots South Australian schools state champions today, after winning the final at Adelaide’s Memorial Drive Tennis Centre.

Cobdogla competed against seven primary schools from around South Australia, including St Catherine’s School (Stirling), Tanunda Primary School (Tanunda), St Dominic’s Priory College (North Adelaide), Norton Summit Primary School (Norton Summit), Torrens Valley Christian School (Hope Valley), Victor Harbour Primary School (Victor Harbour) and St Martin de Porres School (Sheidow Park).

Cobdogla made their way through to the state final having won their regional final earlier in the year and were undefeated in their run to the title.

Cobdogla and runners-up Tanunda Primary School, have now been invited to play on centre court at Memorial Drive in a curtain-raiser match for the World Tennis Challenge in January.

The ANZ Tennis Hot Shots schools state competition is run in conjunction with the South Australian Primary School Amateur Sports Association (SAPSASA) and offers a pathway for students to participate in tennis at school.

The competition encourages tennis participation, grows friendships and gives students the opportunity to represent their school in a team environment.

Tennis SA CEO Steven Baldas congratulated all involved in the state final.

“We congratulate Cobdogla Primary School and each of the schools, teachers and parents involved in today’s ANZ Tennis Hot Shots South Australian schools state championships,” Baldas said.

“These events provide school children with a fantastic introduction to our ANZ Tennis Hot Shots program, utilising smaller courts, lighter racquets and low compression tennis balls.

“We look forward to seeing Cobdogla and Tanunda at the World Tennis Challenge in January.”