14 October 2019 | Tennis Queensland

Congratulations to all the finalists at this year’s Queensland Tennis Awards. The champions will be crowned on October 26 at the Queensland Convention and Exhibition Centre, with the winner from each category to be nominated for the Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards.


The 2019 Finalists are:

Ashley Cooper Medal, Athlete of the Year

Ash Barty

Sam Stosur

John Millman

Ajla Tomljanovic


Coaching Excellence – Club

Jesse Catterall

Chris Novic

Tim Low


Coaching Excellence – Development

Jesse Catterall

Ryan Kebblewhite


Eddie Machin Scholarship

Alec Braund

Ameliija Swaffer-Selff

Olivia Massingham


Excellence In Officiating

Troy McKernan

David Lecce

Toni Griffin


Most Outstanding 35+ Senior

Mike Ford

Kerryn Cyprien


Most Outstanding Australian Ranking Tournament

Mooloolooba Junior Championships

KDV Sport Junior Slam


Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability

Archie Graham

Ben Wenzel

Mitchell James


Most Outstanding School

Sunshine Coast Grammar

St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Biloela

Brookfield State School

Kelvin Grove State College


Queensland Club of the Year

Redcliffe Tennis Association

Caloundra Tennis Club

Trinity Beach Tennis Club


Regional Shield

Gold Coast Region

Sunshine Coast Region

South Region


Wendy Turnbull Medal Junior Athlete of the Year – Girl

Darina Kamenoff

Lara Walker

Olivia Gadecki


Wendy Turnbull Medal Junior Athlete of the Year – Boy

Tai Sach

Philip Sekulic

Chen Dong


Volunteer Achievement Award

Verena Ali

Mandy Mutch

David Herbener