31 October 2016 | Tennis Queensland

Tennis Townsville can now officially lay claim to being the best tennis club in Queensland, after taking out Club of the Year at the Queensland Tennis Awards held at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre on Saturday 29 October.

The hotly contested award went to Townsville ahead of other finalists Roy Emerson Tennis Centre, Southern Cross Tennis, Matchpoint Tennis and Mooloolaba Tennis Club.

2016 has seen Tennis Townsville continue to go from strength to strength with a surge in numbers among members and tournament entries in the past 12 months to this year. More than 900 people were registered at the club at the end of 2015 – a 200 player increase on the same time the previous year. The club’s tournaments – the North Queensland Open and Junior Championships – also attracted an extra 50 players, with feedback from those who entered rating them as ‘excellent’.

This year also marked the end of a 5-year upgrade for the club – which included the redevelopment of four courts that were damaged during cyclone Yasi in 2011, the construction of three new courts, extra seating, and an upgraded club house. All up – the club spent almost $1-million improving facilities. Tennis Townsville has a strong focus on transitioning players from ANZ Hot Shots leagues to more regular competitions and fixtures and also makes sure it has a presence at community days across Townsville, attracting new members to the club whenever it can. Tennis Tonwsville is leading the state in driving participation and getting more people outside and on the tennis court with a racquet in hand. A truly deserving winner and a club to watch in Queensland’s quest to develop the next Grand Slam champion out of our home state.

A total of  fifteen awards were recognised at Queensland’s night of nights for the sport which saw local coaches, communities, volunteers, tournaments and players all celebrated across the evening.

“The Queensland Tennis Awards are an important opportunity for us to recognize those who help shape the sport of tennis both on and off the court,” said Chief Executive Officer of Tennis Queensland, Geoff Quinlan.

“There are some outstanding contributions being made by clubs, coaches, players and officials across the state which aren’t going unnoticed. Tonight they receive the recognition they deserve in a room full of their mentors and peers.”

Queensland’s most prestigious awards, the Wendy Turnbull Medal for Junior Athlete of the Year and the Ashley Cooper Medal for Athlete of the Year were also hotly contested this year with Blake Ellis and Sam Stosur taking out the honours respectively.


The full list of winners is as follows:


Supporting Tennis – Local Government Recognition
Maranoa Regional Council

Coaching Excellence – ANZ Tennis Hot Shots
Stephen Farrell

Coaching Excellence – Club
Damian Waddell

Coaching Excellence – Talent Development
Graeme Brimblecombe

Excellence in Officiating
Robert Leak

Geoffrey E Griffith Volunteer Achievement Award
Greg and Rosemary Howland
Kim Ross
Vic Bayer
Vicki Chatfield

Most Outstanding 35+ Senior
Mike Ford

Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability
Mitchell James 

Most Outstanding Tournament
Hutchinson Builders Toowoomba International

Most Outstanding School
Brookfield State School

Eddie Machin Scholarship – Junior Regional Athlete of the Year
Alec Braund

Wendy Turnbull Medal – Junior Athlete of the Year
Blake Ellis

Ashley Cooper Medal – Athlete of the Year
Samantha Stosur

Queensland Regional Shield
Innisfail Tennis Club

Queensland Club of the Year
Tennis Townsville