31 October 2016 | Tennis Queensland

Queensland has claimed back to back Bruce Cup titles by remaining undefeated through the week at the 12 & Under National Tennis Championships in Albury, New South Wales (22-29 October 2016).

Queensland won a total of 131 rubbers out of a possible 168, 16 in front of their next closest rival Western Australia who won 115.


Boys team  Girls team
Alec Braund (Maryborough) Mali Vili (Brisbane)
Kanika Jayathilake (Brisbane) Cassidy Mataia (Brisbane)
Owen Lin (Brisbane) Darina Kamenoff (Gold Coast)
Billy Bougoure (Brisbane) Sydney Stone (Brisbane)
Oliver Molloy (Gold Coast) Emily Ryan (Brisbane)
Ethan Takac (Brisbane) Maddison Ricardo (Gold Coast)
Hayden Jones (Gold Coast) Martine Carroll (Brisbane)

The Bruce Cup is a team-based 12 & under competition with 14 players (7 boys and 7 girls) representing each state, and competing against other states and territories in Mixed Doubles, Boys/Girls Doubles and Singles. The competition is conducted by School Sport Australia (SSA) in partnership with Tennis Australia.

The Bruce Cup has a long and proud tradition with many of Australia’s finest players including Rod Laver, Roy Emerson, Pat Rafter, Mark Phillippoussis, Todd Woodbridge, Alicia Molik and Ash Barty starting their careers at the Bruce Cup.