15 October 2015 | Tennis Queensland

Queensland’s top ranked tennis players, Ajla Tomljanovic and Sam Stosur, alongside the resurgent John Millman, have been named finalists for this year’s Ashley Cooper Medal – Athlete of the Year. 

For the first time the Queensland Tennis Awards will be held at Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre on Saturday 7 November.

The full list of finalists is as follows:

Ashley Cooper Medal – Athlete of the Year
Samantha Stosur
John Millman
Ajla Tomljanovic

Wendy Turnbull Medal – Junior Athlete of the Year
Kimberly Birrell
Priscilla Hon
Sara Tomic
Blake Ellis
Dane Sweeny
Olivia Tjandramulia

Eddie Machin – Junior Regional Athlete of the Year
Jayden Court
Amelija Swaffer-Selff
Megan Smith
Mikayla Zahirovic

Queensland Club of the Year
Redcliffe Tennis Centre
Gold Coast Seniors
Barcaldine Lawn Tennis Club
Coolum Tennis Club

Queensland Regional Club of the Year
Farinelli Tennis Academy
Western Surburbs Tennis Club
Emerald Tennis Club
Barcaldine Lawn Tennis Club
Coolum Tennis Club
Gold Coast Seniors
Toowoomba Tennis Association

Most Outstanding Tournament
Bruce Lynton BMW Rosebowl (Gold Coast)
Hutchinson Builders Toowoomba International 2015

Most Outstanding Senior 35+
Phil Waight
Max Bates
Mike Ford
Chris O’Mara

Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability
Archie Graham
Mitchell James

Coaching Excellence – Talent Development
Gary Stickler
Roger Marquass
Tim Low

Coaching Excellence – Club
Ross Orford
Lincoln Remar
Damien Waddell

Coaching Excellence – ANZ Tennis Hot Shots
Jamie Wareham
Dom Andrew
Jay Deacon

Most Outstanding School
Brisbane Boys College
Rainworth State School
Brookfield State School
East Ayr State School

Geoffrey E Griffith Volunteer of the Year
Julianne Daniel
Mike Evans
Nathan Costello
Peter Rasey

Excellence in Officiating
David Best
Madeline Ilic
Phillipa Collins