23 July 2018 | Tennis Australia

Australia has won 8 medals including four gold, two silver and two bronze at the world’s premier intellectual disability competition, the 2018 INAS World Tennis Championships.

Australian tennis players Archie Graham (Newtown, Qld) Kelly Wren (Engadine, NSW) Mitchell James (Burpengary, Qld), Joshua Holloway (Rockhampton, Qld), Damian Phillips (Coffs Harbour, NSW) and Carla Lenarduzzi (Camberwell, Vic) led by Head Intellectual Disability (ID) Coach, Alison Scott travelled to Paris to compete at the tournament which hosted competition between 14-22 July for players across singles, doubles and mixed doubles events.

Strong performances meant Australia finished on top of the medal tally claiming the championships for the fourth consecutive year.

Final Australian results

Men’s Singles: 

Gold – Archie Graham (Aus)

Women’s Singles:

Bronze – Kelly Wren (Aus)

Men’s Doubles:

Silver – Archie Graham & Damian Phillips (Aus)

Women’s Doubles:

Gold – Kelly Wren & Carla Lenarduzzi (Aus)

Mixed Doubles:

Silver – Mitchell James & Carla Lenarduzzi (Aus)

Bronze – Archie Graham & Kelly Wren (Aus)

Men’s Teams:

Gold – Archie Graham & Mitchell James (Aus)

Women’s Teams:

Gold – Kelly Wren & Carla Lenarduzzi (Aus)

Final Medal Tally

  • AUS – 4,2,2
  • GBR – 3,2,1
  • POL – 0,2,0
  • CZE – 0,0,2
  • FRA – 0,0,2