Melbourne VIC, Australia, 11 November 2015 | Tennis Australia

Six of Australia’s top tennis players – 2015 Australian and US Open winner Dylan Alcott, breakthrough talent Sam Groth, rising star Thanasi Kokkinakis, evergreen champion Sam Stosur and doubles stars Casey Dellacqua and John Peers – have been named finalists for this year’sNewcombe Medal.

The highest honour in Australian tennis will be presented to the most outstanding elite tennis player and ambassador for the sport at a special awards ceremony to be held in Melbourne on Monday 23 November.

Tennis Australia CEO Craig Tiley said the Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards celebrated all levels of achievement within the tennis community.

“It is not just about honouring Australia’s most outstanding tennis player, the awards are about recognising and celebrating the exceptional accomplishments and contributions of tennis communities, coaches, clubs and schools around the country,” he said.

The 2015 finalists were honoured to learn of their nomination for the sport’s top gong.

Alcott said: “It’s unbelievable. I think I’m the first athlete with a disability to ever be nominated for the Newks, which is absolutely incredible. To be recognised purely as an elite athlete and to be among the other nominees and those who have won in the past, it’s humbling. I can’t believe it, it’s awesome.”

Dellacqua said: “I’m excited to be nominated for the Newcombe Medal again. There have been some great results by all Australian players this year, and it’s an honour to be nominated.”

Groth said: “To be nominated for the Newcombe Medal really caps off what I feel was a real breakthrough year for me. I was really happy with the way 2015 went and although I stopped my season a little early due to injury, being nominated is a great way to close my best season yet. It was a great year for a lot of Aussie players so for now I’ll keep my fingers crossed and look forward toNovember 23.”

Kokkinakis said: “I’m pretty excited… It’s obviously an honour to be nominated for the big medal. I won the junior medal last year so it’s obviously a good transition I’ve made. I’m in good company so it should be a great night.”

Peers said: “It’s a great honour to be nominated for the Newcombe Medal. It has been a great year for me and to get nominated for this award is a privilege.”

Stosur said: “It’s nice to be nominated again. Obviously I’ve been nominated five times now and have won it a couple of times. I guess to be back in that position is a good feeling, to still be up there in Australian tennis.”

The sixth edition of the Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards will take place at Crown Palladium in Melbourne.

The full list of finalists is as follows:

Newcombe Medal

Finalists: Dylan Alcott (Vic), Casey Dellacqua (WA), Sam Groth (Vic), Thanasi Kokkinakis (SA), John Peers (Vic), Sam Stosur (Qld)

President’s Spirit of Tennis Award

Recipient selected by a panel appointed by Tennis Australia

Coaching Excellence – High Performance

Finalists: Mark Draper (Qld), Ben Mathias (Qld), Nicole Pratt (Qld)

Coaching Excellence – Club

Finalists: Matt Bull (Nedlands, WA), Jason Lindeman (Hawthorn, Vic), Adrian Muscillo (Kew, Vic)

Coaching Excellence – ANZ Tennis Hot Shots

Finalists: Jason Lindeman (East Hawthorn, Vic), Adrian Muscillo (Kew, Vic), Theresa Stapp (Cromer, NSW)

Coaching Excellence – Talent Development

Finalists: Graham Charlton (Traralgon, Vic), Ben Milner (Glenelg East, SA), Janine Thompson (Lalor Park, NSW)

Junior Athlete of the Year – Female

Finalists: Kimberly Birrell (Hope Island, Qld), Jaimee Fourlis (Preston, Vic), Priscilla Hon (Rochedale, Qld)

Junior Athlete of the Year – Male

Finalists: Alex de Minaur (Rhodes, NSW), Blake Ellis (Bellbowrie, Qld), Omar Jasika (Clarinda, Vic)

Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability

Finalists: Dylan Alcott (East St Kilda, Vic), Glen Flindell (Yallambie, Vic), Adam Kellerman (St Ives, NSW)

Volunteer Achievement Award

Finalists: Lyn Duffy (Melton South, Vic), Julie Fidler (Bentleigh, Vic), Robin Lowe (Sale, Vic)

Tennis Senior of the Year

Finalists: Bob Howes (Highett, Vic), Wayne Pascoe (Beauty Point, NSW), Margaret Robinson (City Beach, WA)

Excellence in Officiating

Finalists: John Blom (Heathcote, NSW), Glen Toland (Engadine, NSW), Emma Walter (Swinger Hill, ACT)

Most Outstanding Club presented by Medibank

Finalists: Alexander Park Tennis Club (WA), City Community Tennis (NSW), Mt Eliza Tennis Club (Vic)

Most Outstanding Australian Ranking Tournament

Finalists: 91st Shepparton Easter Tournament (Vic), Bendigo Bank Winter Junior Tour & Australian Money Tournament (Vic), Rod Laver Queensland Junior State Championships (Qld)

Most Outstanding Professional Tournament

Finalists: 2014 Hutchinson Builders Toowoomba International (Qld), 2015 McDonald’s Burnie International (Tas), 2015 Mildura Grand International (Vic)

Most Outstanding School

Finalists: Creaney Primary School (WA), Brisbane Boys’ College (Qld), Prince Alfred College (SA)