Melbourne VIC, Australia, 23 July 2013 | Tennis Australia

Tennis Victoria is pleased to announce the teams for the 2013 Asia-Pacific Tennis League (ATL) – Vic Conference. The first serve will be on Sunday 10 November 2013.  In what is sure to be an even bigger and better ATL – Vic Conference the following teams have been successful in their bid to compete in the competition.

The Men’s draw will be contested by the Dingley Dingoes, Kooyong Classics, MCC Stars, Royal South Yarra Royals, Tennis World Taipans and the Waverley Warriors.

In a strong boost to the competition the Women’s draw has been bolstered with the inclusion of the Tennis Victoria Premier League Champions Delahey will join the ATL Competition. The final teams are the Delahey Reckers, Frankston Firebirds, Kooyong Classics, MCC Stars, Royal South Yarra Royals and Waverley Warriors.

The ATL is a revolution in the sport that took Victorian tennis by storm in 2012 with huge success.  The 2012 ATL – Vic Conference Champions, the Liston Seagulls, went on to win the ATL Playoffs in the Men’s draw. With modified rules, a shortened format and some of the best Victorian players playing at the one venue with Super Rounds, each round of tennis is sure to entertain.

The competition’s stable of stars will be headlined by former Australian Davis Cup players Peter Luczak (MCC Stars) and Richard Fromberg (Tennis World Titans) and up and coming stars on the world tour Olivia Rogowska (Royal South Yarra Royals) and Luke Saville (Tennis World Titans).

The depth of the competition is emphasised with fellow top class Australian players including John Peers (Kooyong Classics), coming off the back of a quarterfinal appearance in the mixed doubles at Wimbledon, Storm Sanders (Royal South Yarra Royals) and Joe Sirianni (Dingley Dingoes) also showing full endorsement for this exciting fast paced innovation in the sport.

The ATL Vic Conference will see the teams compete through November, with the winners in both the men’s and women’s competitions earning a place in the ATL Playoffs at Melbourne Park during the Australian Open where they will compete for an increased pool of over $90,000 in prize money.

The MCC Stars will be well represented with a team in both the men’s and women’s Conferences highlighted with the inclusion of Luczak.  Excited about what the competition brings to his club, MCC Team Manager Ben Elwood said “The competition allows a great team culture to be built around the incorporation of former senior players combined with younger players”.

Tennis Victoria will be releasing the final Super Round fixtures on Friday 30 August with the competition beginning Sunday 10 November and concluding with the Final and 3v4 playoff on Sunday 1 December.