Sydney, 17 November 2010 |

Grand Slam champion and former world No.1 Ana Ivanovic is the latest star to sign up for the Medibank International Sydney.

The Serbian glamour girl joins an outstanding line-up of players for the January 9 to 15 event, which already includes US Open champion Kim Clijsters, Australia’s world No. 6 Samantha Stosur, defending champion Marcos Baghdatis and former US Open winner Juan Martin Del Potro.

Ivanovic confirmed today that she will play at the Medibank International Sydney for the first time since 2008, when she reached the semi finals.

“I’m very excited to be returning to Sydney for the Medibank International; it is one of my favourite cities to visit and I can’t wait to play there in January,” Ivanovic said.

“I have had some good results there in the past, when I reached the semifinals in 2008. Hopefully I can go on and win the title in 2011.”

“The matches there in Sydney are incredibly tough because the women’s draw is always excellent so I am looking forward to some good preparation before the Australian Open.”

Tournament Director Craig Watson said he was thrilled to add another crowd favourite to the event’s star-studded field.

“We are delighted to be welcoming Ana back to Sydney in January. I know our fans will be keen to see her again at Sydney Olympic Park Tennis Centre,” Watson said.

“She is back in the world’s top 20 after a great end to her season so she will be a definite contender for her first title in Australia in the New Year

“With Kim and Samantha in action, along with Ana, the Medibank International Sydney crowds will be in store for some world-class tennis in January.”

23-year-old Ivanovic is currently ranked No. 17 on the WTA Tour after an impressive October and November, which saw her win titles in Linz and the season-ending Commonwealth Bank Tournament of Champions in Bali.

The Serbian’s biggest career achievement to date was her first grand slam title at Roland Garros in 2008. Following that triumph, the Ivanovic claimed the world No.1 ranking.

She has won ten career titles including Indian Wells (2008), Berlin, Los Angeles, Luxembourg (2006) and Montreal (2005), and was also a finalist at the 2008 Australian Open.