Adelaide, SA, 13 May 2019 | Tennis Australia

Queensland were announced as the 2019 Pizzey Cup champions following their dominant display at the week-long competition in Adelaide on Saturday.

The gold-medal-winning team finished the rain-interrupted week undefeated, claiming their first Pizzey Cup title since 2006 and ending a 10-year reign of New South Wales over the event.

New South Wales finished in second place while Western Australia took home the bronze.

The Pizzey Cup, which doubles as the 2019 School Sport Australia Tennis Championships, saw 115 secondary school students from across the country descend on Adelaide, South Australia, for the prestigious event that ran from Saturday 4 to Saturday 11 May.

The Tennis Australia Cup individual event saw fifth seed James McCabe (NSW) defeat top seed Zac Larke (Qld) 7-6 6-2, while second seed Grace Schumacher (NSW) mounted a second-set comeback to defeat top Lexie Weir (WA) 6-1 6-4 in the girls’.

At the conclusion of the event, the All Australian teams were selected and will be invited to visit Melbourne for the Australian Open in January 2020.

Tennis Australia in conjunction with School Sport Australia and School Sport South Australia joined forces to bring the tournament for kids aged 18 and under to life after the tournament first began in 1963.

2019 School Sport Australia All Australian Boys Tennis Team

Name State
1 Zac Larke Queensland
2 Lathan Treacy Queensland
3 James McCabe New South Wales
4 Michael Zhang New South Wales
5 Stefan Bianchet South Australia
6 Ruben McCormack Tasmania
7 Sam Whitehead Tasmania
8 James O’Sullivan Victoria
9 Luka Brown Western Australia
10 Ethan Cook Western Australia

2019 School Sport Australia All Australian Girls Tennis Team

Name State
1 Anja Nayer Queensland
2 Amelija Swaffer-Selff Queensland
3 Grace Schumacher New South Wales
4 Laia Pasini New South Wales
5 Jasmine Adams South Australia
6 Cydney Crumbie South Australia
7 Chloe Schwarz South Australia
8 Eloise Swarbrick Victoria
9 Pearl Jansz Victoria
10 Lexie Weir Western Australia