21 August 2018 | Tennis Australia

Australia has had success at the ITF Seniors World Team Championships hosted last week from 12 – 19 August in Ulm, Germany claiming three medals at the event.

Australia fielded 6 teams across all divisions – Men’s and Women’s 50, 55, 60.

The Aussies saw success securing gold the Alice Marble Cup (Women’s 60-and-over) and finishing in the silver medal positions in the Vonn Cramm Cup (Men’s 60-and-over) and the Maureen Connelly Cup (Women’s 55-and-over).

In total, 24 players from Australia travelled to Germany to compete in the annual event which is the highest ranked ITF Seniors event on the international calendar. The 2018 Championships and saw more than 115 teams from 32 countries compete at the event in their respective categories.

The ITF Seniors World Individual Championships are currently taking place in Germany.

For full results and to follow Individual Championships visit: http://www.itftennis.com/seniors/home.aspx


Final results from team championships

Maria Esther Bueno Cup – Women’s 50+

13th Place

Australia def. Canada 3-0


Jill Meggs

Cathy Benson

Dianne Cassel

Ulrike Duetch Watson


Fred Perry Cup – Men’s 50+

11th place

Switzerland d Australia 2-1


Gary Nadebaum

Chris O’Mara

Matt Ilott

Greg Westwood


Maureen Connelly Cup – Women’s 55+


Germany def. Australia 2-1


Narelle Raftery (captain)

Brenda Foster

Wanda Howes

Leanne Swaysland


Austria Cup – Men’s 55+

9th place

Italy def. Australia 3-0


Bruce Ferguson

Ian Anderson

Peter Bilton

Brad Middleton


Alice Marble Cup – Women’s 60+


Australia def. USA 2-1


Roslyn Balodis (captain)

Lyn Mortimer

Judith Buzza

Suzie Ellis


Von Cramm Cup – Men’s 60+


USA def. Australia 2-1


Glenn Busby

Steve Myers

Stephen Dance (captain)

Mike Ford


Additional information about ITF Seniors

The ITF Young Seniors, Seniors and Super-Seniors World Team and Individual Championships are the premier events on the ITF Seniors Circuit. Players aged from 35-and-over to 45-and-over compete in the Young Seniors Championships; from 50-and-over to 60-and-over in the Seniors Championships, and from 65-and-over and 85-and-over compete in the Super-Seniors Championships. Starting with one team trophy in 1958, and four individual events in 1981, the competitions have grown to offer a total of 72 World Championship titles each year to teams, and in singles, doubles and mixed doubles.