Canberra ACT 2601, Australia, 7 December 2015 | Tennis ACT

Canberra Velocity has won their third conference title in a row after defeating the Brisbane Sharks in the North Conference final of the Asia-Pacific Tennis League (ATL).  Velocity again dominated the singles, winning all four matches and taking the title 5-1.

Alison Bai lined up at the number one position against Stefanie TanBai wasted no time getting Velocity on the scoreboard, dropping just one game.  Tyra Calderwood dropped the first set in her match against Rachael Tredoux, but rebounded to win 4-3, 4-2 to put Velocity up 2-0.  Kaitlin Staines didn’t drop a game against Bryah Guilfoyle, to give Velocity a 3-0 lead.  After winning the first set in a tiebreak against Ashling Sumner, Ashley Keir recovered from 3-1 down in the second to win it 4-3, and clinch the title for Velocity.

In the doubles, Keir and Calderwood defeated Tredoux and Guilfoyle, while Tan and Sumner put the Sharks on the board with a 4-2, 4-2 win over Bai and Alexandra Nancarrow

Today’s victory, was the third consecutive conference title for the Canberra Velocity women’s team after winning back to back titles in the NSW/ACT conference in 13/14 and 14/15.  This year saw Velocity join the North Conference which also featured 5 Queensland teams, and 2 NSW teams.

The women have earned themselves a spot in the ATL Playoffs, which will be held in Melbourne in January during the Australian Open 2016.

There is little rest for the players, with Bai and Nancarrow both preparing for the Australian Open 2016 Wildcard Playoff taking place in Melbourne from December 14-20.  Bai will also join Velocity men’s team mate James Frawley in the Win a Wildcard competition finals as they play for a spot in the Australian Open 2016 Mixed Doubles Championships. 

Staines will head to December Showdown in Melbourne where she will contest the 18/u and 16/u Australian Championships.  Fellow Velocity team mate Annerly Poulos has already started her campaign in the 14/u Australian championships and is through to the 3rd round.  


Canberra Velocity Women 5 defeated Brisbane Sharks 1

No 1. Alison Bai (CV) d Stefanie Tan, 4-1, 4-0
No 2. Ashley Keir (CV) d Ashling Sumner 4-3, 4-3
No 3. Tyra Calderwood (CV) d Rachel Tredoux 2-4, 4-3, 4-2
No 4. Kaitlin Staines (CV) d Bryah Guilfoyle 4-0, 4-0

No 1. Keir/Calderwood (CV) d Tredoux/Guilfoyle 4-3, 4-1
No 2. Nancarrow/Bai (CV) l Tan/Sumner 4-2, 4-2