Melbourne VIC, Australia, 28 October 2014 | Tennis Australia

The expanded Asia-Pacific Tennis League South East Conference is set to reach new heights in 2014 with the addition of Tasmanian men’s team and several star players signing on for the expanded South East Conference promises to deliver first class tennis action, and with just 27 days til the first serve the excitement is building within Victoria and Tasmania.

The player headline acts in the men’s competition will be recent US Open boys’ singles and doubles titles winner Omar Jasika (Tennis World Taipans), current Davis Cup team members Sam Groth (Dingley Dingoes) who reached a career high ATP singles ranking of No. 82 (July 2014) and Chris Guccione (Tennis World Taipans), and Luke Saville (Royal South Yarras) former junior world No. 1 and winner of both the 2011 Wimbledon boys’ singles title and the 2012 Australian Open boys’ singles title.

The women’s competition will feature current and former Fed Cup team members Storm Sanders (Bayside Thunder) and Sally Peers (Kooyong Classics), former junior world No. 1 and 2010 US Open girls’ singles winner Daria Gavrilova (Bayside Thunder) and Anett Kontaveit (Kooyong Classics) the 2012 US Open girls’ singles finalist.

The men’s Conference will feature the Dingley Dingoes, Kooyong Classics, Royal South Yarras, Tasmania Devils, Tennis World Taipans and Waverley Warriors.

The women’s Conference will feature the Frankston Firebirds, Kooyong Classics, MCC Stars, Mornington Missiles, Bayside Thunder and Waverley Warriors.

The league will commence on Friday 28 November with the men’s players venturing as one to the home of the Dingley Dingoes and the women’s players to the home of the Frankston Firebirds for Round 1 action. The competition will feature 5 rounds and culminate in a Finals Day at the National Tennis Centre on Sunday 14 December, with a 1v2 & 3v4 playoff.

In the ATL South East Conference, teams will compete for the $6000 winners’ cheque and the opportunity to progress to the ATL Play-offs at the Australian Open in January. Both the winners of the men’s and women’s Conference will complete for $55K prize money (each) against the other State Conference champions and teams from Japan, Korea, New Zealand and Pacific Oceania.