Bundaberg, 2 April 2012 | tennis.com.au

Eighteen-year-old Jason Kubler (Mango Hill, Qld) won his fourth Futures title yesterday at the Bundaberg Tennis International in Queensland.

The No.5 seed defeated [8] John Millman (Carina, Qld) in three sets, 6-4 1-6 6-1, to clinch the hallmark win, his first on Australian soil.

The win adds to an impressive six months for the AIS Pro Tour scholarship holder, having already won three titles on the Pro Circuit in the US and reaching five finals alone this year. On his way to the last round, the clay court specialist defeated 2010 winner Brydan Klein (Warnbro, WA) and defending champion and top seed James Lemke (Camberwell, Vic).

Millman’s performance this week was also noteworthy with the 22-year-old reaching his first final after a handful of recent quarterfinal results. During the week, Millman disposed of players including Dane Propoggia (East Lakes, NSW) and Maverick Banes (Gold Coast, Qld).

Kubler was pleased with his result and looked forward to some time at home in Brisbane.

“It’s always nice to win in Australia, it’s the first time I’ve done it, so that’s good.

“It was a tough match and I was getting pretty tired out there, I was just lucky enough to get the third set.

“John is a very good player, he is always going to come out and try as hard as he can. I knew that coming into the match and I just had to try as hard as I could and see who was going to win,” said Kubler.

Sandra Zaniewska of Poland was flawless in the women’s competition, winning her second title in a row after she beat Japan’s Shuko Aoyama 6-3 6-2 in the final.

In the doubles, [2] Adam Feeney (Tumbi Umbi, NSW) and Adam Hubble (Mooroolbark, Vic) couldn’t hold on with No.3 seeds Lemke and Propoggia upsetting the duo 6-3 6-2 to take the men’s title, while Japanese pair Aoyama and Junri Namigata improved on last week’s Ipswich result defeating Sacha Jones (AUS) and Sally Peers (Glen Waverley, Vic) 6-1 7-5 in the women’s event.

The Australian Pro Tour calendar will resume in late August for the Cairns Tennis International.