27 March 2017 | Tennis West

Cottesloe Tennis Club has claimed the 2016/17 Women’s State League Title over reigning champions Blue Gum Park TC in a thrilling match on Saturday that was ultimately decided by just one set. This win will see a State League Medal added to the already impressive silverware collection of former World Number 8, and current Fed Cup Captain, Alicia Molik, who headlined for the fierce Cottesloe side.


In the Men’s Final, Hensman Park TC capitalised on their finals experience and home-side advantage to claim their seventh title in 12 years over State League Final debutants, Mosman Park TC.


The Women’s Final proved to be one of the best matches of the season, with the teams heading into the doubles tied on both rubbers and sets, leaving only one game to separate them.


In the singles matches, Cottesloe’s Teiwa Casey won the first rubber of the day, with a 3-set win over Marisa Gianotti 3-6, 6-3, 4-6. In the other singles matches, Blue Gum Park Captain Sheridan Currie defeated Lexie Weir 7-5, 3-6, 6-2, and Madelaine Muller-Hughes defeated Cottesloe Captain Brenda Plint in straight sets 6-4, 6-2.


In the final singles rubber, Blue Gum’s Katy O’Shea capitalised on her home-side support and put on a dominant display against Alicia Molik leading 4-1, then 5-2 in the first set, before Molik mounted a powerful comeback to secure the first set in a tiebreak and win the second set 6-1.


With only a game separating the teams as they entered the doubles, the competition intensified.  Charlotte Connon and Madelaine Muller-Hughes teamed up for Blue Gum Park to defeat Brenda Plint and Lexie Weir in a match that was decided by a third set match tie-break 3-6, 6-4, 10-5.


Whilst the first doubles match was in action, on the next court, Blue Gum’s Katy O’Shea and Sheridan Currie took on the formidable duo of Alicia Molik and Teiwa Casey. The Cottesloe pair capitalised on their winning singles form to take the match 3-6, 4-6, with the straight-sets win enabling Cottesloe to secure the Final by just 1 set and 4 games, winning 3-8-75 to Blue Gum Park’s 3-7-71.


In the Men’s Final between Hensman Park Tennis Club and Mosman Park Tennis Club,  home-side Captain Zach Itzstein launched Hensman’s Final’s campaign with an impressive 6-3, 6-1 win against Brenton Bacon.  This was followed by a dominant performance by fellow Hensman Park teammate, Cameron Fenner who took the second singles match 6-4, 6-3 against Sam Alexander.


Mosman Park’s star recruit, Brydan Klein was able to claim his singles match for the club, with a convincing 6-3, 6-2 win against James Connelly.  Klein then partnered up with teammate Sam Alexander in the doubles, taking on the formidable duo of Zach Itzstein and Cameron Fenner.  After a tight first set, the Hensman Pair walked away with the win 7-5, 6-0.


After securing 3 rubbers and 7 sets over Mosman Park’s 1 rubber and 1 set, the fourth singles match between Marco Comuzzo (HP) and George Perez (MP) was halted in the third set as Hensman had done enough to secure overall State League victory.


The winning sides will take home a share of $16K in prize money.


Detailed Match Results below:


WOMEN’S STATE LEAGUE (Venue: Blue Gum Park TC)

Blue Gum Park 3-7-71 defeated by Cottesloe 3-8-75

Katy O’Shea Alicia Molik 6-7, 1-6
Marisa Gianotti Teiwa Casey 3-6, 6-3, 4-6
Sheridan Currie Lexie Weir 7-5, 3-6, 6-2
Madelaine Muller-Hughes Brenda Plint 6-4, 6-2
Katy O’Shea / Sheridan Currie Alicia Molik / Teiwa Casey 3-6, 4-6
Charlotte Connon / Madelaine Muller-Hughes Brenda Plint / Lexie Weir 3-6, 6-4, 10-5
MENS STATE LEAGUE (Venue: Hensman Park TC)

Hensman Park 3-7-57 def. Mosman Park 1-3-41

James Connelly Brydan Klein 3-6, 2-6
Zach Itzstein Brenton Bacon 6-3, 6-1
Marco Comuzzo George Perez 7-5, 6-7, 2-1 (DNC)
Cameron Fenner Sam Alexander 6-4, 6-3
Zach Itzstein / Cameron Fenner Brydan Klein / Sam Alexander 7-5, 6-0



Tennis West’s Tennis League is the largest single Association inter-club league competition in Australia. It is open to Tennis West affiliated club members of all ages and abilities. Around 8,000 players participate in Summer Tennis League, and 5,000 players in Winter Tennis League. Competitions are offered for Adults, Juniors and Seniors.


For the latest fixtures and results, please visit: