17 September 2018 | Tennis Australia

The 2018/19 Australian Pro Tour has launched in Queensland with the Cairns Tennis International kicking off at Cairns International Tennis Club over the weekend.

Rising tennis stars from across Australia and the world will compete at Pro Tour tournaments around the country over the next six months.

The Australian Pro Tour is a combination of International Tennis Federation (ITF) women’s and men’s and ATP Challenger tournaments and is a stepping stone to introduce tennis players to the professional ranks and a pathway to the WTA and ATP tours.

Tennis Australia’s Pro Tour Manager Fiona Luscombe is pleased to welcome the start of a new Australian Pro Tour season in Cairns starting on Saturday.

“The 2018/19 Australian Pro Tour calendar is shaping up to be one of the best yet,” Luscombe said.

“Being able to host 28 international standard tournaments right here in Australia is so important for providing local and Asia-Pacific emerging players the opportunity to compete at the top level.

“The general public can head along to any tournament around Australia for free. It’s a fantastic opportunity for families, fans and aspiring tennis players from around the country to get down and watch some of Australia’s best up-and-coming talent.”

The 2018/19 Australian Pro Tour runs between September 2018 and April 2019 and offers a prize money pool of more than $USD 1 million dollars.

Women’s Pro Tour dates

Main Draw start date Location Tier ($US)
17 September Cairns (Qld) ITF $25,000
24 September Darwin (NT) ITF $60,000
1 October Brisbane (Qld) ITF $25,000
8 October Toowoomba (Qld) ITF $25,000
22 October Bendigo (Vic) ITF $60,000
29 October Canberra (ACT) ITF $60,000
31 December Playford (SA) ITF $25,000
28 January Burnie (Tas) ITF $60,000
4 February Launceston (Tas) ITF $25,000
11 February TBA (SA) ITF $15,000
18 February Perth (WA) ITF $15,000
4 March Mildura (Vic) ITF $25,000
18 March Canberra (ACT) ITF $25,000
25 March Canberra (ACT) ITF $25,000

Men’s Pro Tour dates

Main draw start date Location Tier ($US)
17 September Cairns (Qld) ITF $25,000
24 September Darwin (NT) ITF $25,000
1 October Brisbane (Qld) ITF $25,000
8 October Toowoomba (Qld) ITF $25,000
22 October Traralgon (Vic) ATP Challenger $75,000
29 October Canberra (ACT) ATP Challenger $75,000
31 December Playford (SA) ATP 80 Challenger
7 January Canberra (ACT) ATP 70 Challenger
28 January Burnie (Tas) ATP 70 Challenger
4 February Launceston (Tas) ATP 70 Challenger
25 February TBA (NSW) ITF $25,000
4 March Mildura (Vic) ITF $25,000
18 March Mornington (Vic) ITF $15,000
25 March Mornington (Vic) ITF $15,000

Australian Pro Tour fast facts

  • The Australian Pro Tour consists of International Tennis Federation (ITF) men’s and women’s and ATP Challenger tournaments
  • The Australian Pro Tour gives players the opportunity to compete on an international level and create a pathway to the WTA and ATP tours
  • The calendar includes 28 tournaments held across all states and territories between September 2018 and April 2019
  • The total prize pool for the Australian Pro Tour series is more than $USD 1,000,000
  • Top Australian tennis players including Ash Barty, Daria Gavrilova, Sam Stosur, Nick Kyrgios, Alex De Minaur, John Millman, Jordan Thompson and Thanasi Kokkinakis are some of the players who have competed in Australian Pro Tour events.

For Australian Pro Tour live scores, a live stream of selected events and additional information visit: tennis.com.au/protour.

For Australian Pro Tour social updates follow @oztennisresults on Twitter, for all tennis news follow @tennisaustralia on Twitter or like us on Facebook.

Australian Pro Tour Local Government partners include:

  • Northern Territory Government
  • Toowoomba Regional Council, Queensland
  • Cairns Regional Council, Queensland
  • Latrobe City, Victoria
  • City of Greater Bendigo, Victoria
  • ACT Government
  • City of Playford, South Australia
  • Events Tasmania
  • Burnie City Council, Tasmania
  • Launceston City Council, Tasmania
  • Mildura Rural City Council, Victoria
  • Mornington Peninsula Shire, Victoria