14 September 2017 | Tennis Australia

The next generation of top tennis players are set to compete when the Australian Pro Tour season launches this weekend with the Penrith Tennis International (Women) and Alice Springs Tennis International (Men).

Players from the world’s top 200, and a crop of rising tennis stars from Australia and across the globe will compete at Pro Tour tournaments for significant prize money and valuable world ranking points.

The Australian Pro Tour is a collaboration of International Tennis Federation (ITF) Women’s and Men’s, and ATP Challenger (Men’s) professional tournaments and is integral to introducing players to professional tennis and providing pathways to the WTA and ATP Tours.

“We are excited to kick start the 2017/18 Australian Pro Tour series which includes 28 world-class international tennis tournaments for men and women across the country,” Tennis Australia Pro Tour Manager Fiona Luscombe said.

“The Australian Pro Tour continues to grow year-on-year, which is fantastic for local communities, rising Aussie players, and the sport.

“ITF and ATP Challenger events are vital to local and international players and provide them with professional competition experience.

“Entry is free for all Pro Tour events meaning families, fans and aspiring players from across Australia have the chance to watch some of the world’s most promising talent.”

The 2017/18 Australian Pro Tour runs between September 2017 and April 2018 and offers a prize money pool of more than $US 1,100,000.

The official Australian Pro Tour ball sponsor is Wilson.

Australian Pro Tour fast facts

  • The Australian Pro Tour began in 1978
  • The Australian Pro Tour consists of International Tennis Federation (ITF) Pro Circuit and ATP Tour Challenger Series which host more than 1100 tournaments year round in more than 70 countries
  • The ITF Women’s and Men’s, and ATP Challenger (Men’s) professional circuits are essential to providing players with pathway opportunities into the WTA and ATP Tours
  • The Australian Pro Tour comprises 28 tournaments held across all states and territories between September 2017 and April 2018
  • The total prize pool for the Australian Pro Tour series is more than $US 1,100,000
  • The Australian Pro Tour provides valuable experience for up-and-coming tennis talents to compete in alongside other Australian Open lead-in events
  • Top Australian’s including Sam Stosur, Daria Gavrilova, Ash Barty, Casey Dellacqua, Nick Kyrgios, Thanasi Kokkinakis, Jordan Thompson, Lleyton Hewitt and Alicia Molik are some of the players who have competed in Australian Pro Tour events.

Full 2017/18 Australian Pro Tour schedule

Start date

(Main Draw)

Men’s Tournaments Women’s Tournaments
Location Tier ($US) Location Tier ($US)
18 September Alice Springs (NT) ITF $25,000 + H Penrith (NSW) ITF $25,000
25 September Brisbane (Qld) ITF $25,000 Brisbane (Qld) ITF $25,000
2 October Toowoomba (Qld) ITF $25,000 Toowoomba (Qld) ITF $25,000
9 October Cairns (Qld) ITF $25,000 Cairns (Qld) ITF $25,000
23 October Traralgon (Vic) ATP Challenger $75,000
30 October Canberra (ACT) ATP Challenger $75,000 Canberra (ACT) ITF $60,000
6 November Bendigo (Vic) ITF $60,000
1 January Playford (SA) ATP Challenger $75,000 Playford (SA) ITF $25,000
8 January Canberra (ACT) ATP Challenger $75,000
29 January Burnie (Tas) ATP Challenger $75,000 Burnie (Tas) ITF $60,000
5 February Launceston (Tas) ATP Challenger $75,000 Launceston (Tas) ITF $25,000
12 February Perth (WA) ITF $25,000
19 February Perth (WA) ITF $25,000
26 February Venue TBC (SA) ITF $25,000
5 March Mildura (Vic) ITF $25,000 Mildura (Vic) ITF $25,000
19 March Mornington (Vic) ITF $25,000 Canberra (ACT) ITF $60,000
26 March Mornington (Vic) ITF $25,000 Canberra (ACT) ITF $25,000

For Australian Pro Tour live scores, a live stream of selected events and additional information visit www.tennis.com.au/protour.

For Australian Pro Tour social updates follow @oztennisresults on Twitter, for all tennis news follow @tennisaustralia on Twitter or like us on Facebook.


Australian Pro Tour event sponsors include:

  • NT Government
  • Penrith City Council
  • Toowoomba Regional Council
  • Cairns Regional Council
  • Latrobe City
  • City of Greater Bendigo
  • ACT Government
  • City of Playford
  • Events Tasmania
  • Burnie City Council
  • Launceston City Council
  • Mildura Rural City Council
  • Mornington Peninsula Shire