Adelaide SA, Australia, 17 December 2013 | Tennis Australia

Flagstaff Freighters and Trinity Titans set for Melbourne Park after securing 2013 ATL South Australia Conference titles

Over 450 people filled the stands at Memorial Drive to watch reigning national ladies’ champions Flagstaff Freighters defend their title and defeat the Tea Tree Gully Timberwolves in a fearless battle led by WTA ranked player Jess Moore.

On the men’s side, led by touring players Colin Ebelthite and Darren Polkinghorne the Trinity Titans delivered what was arguably one of the best matches of the competition pushing The Drive down to the last doubles super tie break securing their first ATL title – a great reward after narrowing missing the title in 2011.

The Flagstaff Freighters and Trinity Titans now head to Melbourne to compete at the ATL Playoffs.

Wildcard positions will also be offered to New Zealand, the Pacific Oceania region and Asia. The ATL Playoffs will be held on Monday 20 and Tuesday 21 January on the outside courts at the Australian Open.

The top four teams decided on day one of competition, play-off for positions one to four on day two, with the remaining teams playing off for either equal fifth or equal seventh. The ATL Playoffs offer $110,000 in prize money, with prize money paid to every team based on their finishing position.

The Ken McGregor Foundation established to assist our next generation of South Australian tennis stars presented the annual ATL Rising Star award of $1,500 to worthy recipients Lawrence Bataljin (Titans) and Nicole Kraemer (Timberwolves). This award aims to recognise the most consistent and deserving junior player in the ATL competition.