Melbourne, Australia, 15 November 2013 | Tennis Australia

Australia’s top ranked players Samantha Stosur and Bernard Tomic, along with Lleyton Hewitt, doubles pair Casey Dellacqua and Ashleigh Barty, and rising star Nick Kyrgios have been named finalists for the 2013 Newcombe Medal, awarded to Australia’s most outstanding tennis player.

“The Newcombe Medal is a special occasion that unites our nation’s tennis community at all levels,” said Tennis Australia CEO Craig Tiley.

“As well as recognising the achievements of Australia’s most outstanding tennis player, the awards celebrate the exceptional accomplishments and contributions of the many tennis communities, coaches, clubs and schools around the country.”

The Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards will be held at Crown Palladium, Melbourne on Monday 2 December.

The full list of finalists is as follows:

Newcombe Medal

Finalists: Ashleigh Barty (Ipswich, Qld)/Casey Dellacqua (Perth, WA), Lleyton Hewitt (Adelaide, SA), Nick Kyrgios (Canberra, ACT), Samantha Stosur (Gold Coast, Qld) and Bernard Tomic (Gold Coast, Qld)

Coaching Excellence – Talent Development
Finalists: Clint Fyfe (Dicky Beach, Qld), Adrian Lombardi (Waverley Gardens, Vic) and Marc Sophoulis (Avondale Heights, Vic)

Coaching Excellence – Club
Finalists: Craig Haslam (Warrandyte, Vic), Neil Smith (Castle Hill, NSW) and Rick Willsmore (Burswood, WA)

Coaching Excellence – MLC Tennis Hot Shots
Finalists:  David Grainger (Henley Beach, SA), Craig Haslam (Warrandyte, Vic) and Helen Rice (Belair, SA)

Coaching Excellence – High Performance
Finalists:  Nicole Pratt (Melbourne, Vic), Simon Rea (Melbourne, Vic) and Jason Stoltenberg (Melbourne, Vic)

Excellence in Officiating
Finalists:  John Blom (Engadine, NSW), Thomas Sweeney (Benalla, Vic) and Pam Whytcross (Port Macquarie, NSW)

Junior Athlete of the Year – Female
Finalists:  Ashleigh Barty (Ipswich, Qld), Priscilla Hon (Rochedale, Qld) and Seone Mendez (Baulkham Hills, NSW)

Junior Athlete of the Year – Male
Finalists: Oliver Anderson (Yeronga, Qld), Thanasi Kokkinakis (Seacombe Heights, SA) and Nick Kyrgios (Canberra, ACT)

Most Outstanding 35+ Tennis Senior
Finalists:  Ros Balodis (Flynn, ACT), Doug Corbett (Bronte, NSW) and Andrew Rae (Mt Eliza, Vic)

Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability
Finalists:  Adam Kellerman (St Ives, NSW), Ben Weekes (Strathfield, NSW) and Kelly Wren (Engadine, NSW)

Most Outstanding Tennis Club
Finalists: Boroondara Tennis Club (Vic), Burwood Tennis Club (Vic) and Shaw Park Tennis Centre (Qld)

Most Outstanding Tennis Community
Finalists:  City Community Tennis (NSW), Northern Suburbs Tennis (NSW) and Tennis Gove (NT)

Most Outstanding Tournament
Finalists:  2013 Hutchinson Builders Toowoomba International (Toowoomba, Qld), AGL Loy Yang Traralgon International (Traralgon, Vic) and Charles Sturt Adelaide International (West Lakes, SA)

Most Outstanding School
Finalists:  Nightcliff Primary School (Nightcliff, NT), Parkes Public School (Parkes, NSW) and Scotch College (Hawthorn, Vic)

Volunteer Achievement Award
Finalists:  Anne Baldwin (Frankston South, Vic), Julie Fidler (Bentleigh, Vic) and Gaye Hayes (Claremont, WA)

President’s Spirit of Tennis Award
Recipient selected by a panel appointed by Tennis Australia

For more information about the Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards please click here.