2016 WA Tennis Industry Awards Night

WA Tennis Industry Awards 2016

Manning Tennis Club named Club of the Year at WA Tennis Industry Awards Night.

Tennis West’s most prestigious event, the WA Tennis Industry Awards Night was held on Friday 28 October at the picturesque State Reception Centre, Kings Park. Manning Tennis Club was the toast of evening, taking out the top honours, being named the Most Outstanding Club.

Manning Tennis Club was a clear standout club in the 2015/16 year, owing to the club’s inviting culture, accessibility to the community, and implementation of Tennis Australia programs and competitive opportunities for players. With over 150 members, the club offers year-round playing opportunities, and organises social events throughout the year designed to foster the camaraderie amongst the club and wider community.

Channel 7’s, Peter Vlahos did a fantastic job of entertaining over 230 guests all night in his role as Master of Ceremonies, whilst Headline Act Peter Rowsthorn kept everyone in stitches throughout his entire standup comedy routine.

“The WA Tennis Industry Awards provide an opportunity to celebrate tennis in Western Australia and recognise the outstanding achievements of our State’s junior and senior players, officials, coaches, volunteers, administrators and clubs” said Tennis West President, Wayne Firns

“Tennis is experiencing fantastic growth in WA at the moment and this event is a great opportunity to take stock, reflect on the achievements of everyone and enjoy each other’s company.”

Last year’s Australian Open wildcard winner, Maddison Inglis took home the Junior Tennis Star Award, which recognises a player 18/U who is ranked number 1 in their age group in WA and has a demonstrated record of playing for Australia. Inglis continues to climb the WTA rankings whilst playing the Pro Tour Events domestically and internationally. She has represented Australia on numerous occasions most recently as the ‘Orange Girl’ with the Australian Fed Cup Team.

All winners of the WA Tennis Industry Awards Night were nominated for their respective categories at the Newcombe Medal Australian Tennis Awards to be held at Crown Melbourne on Monday 28 November.


The full list of 2016 WA Tennis Industry Awards Winners is detailed below:

Junior Tennis Star
Maddison Inglis

Karen Bucens Award
Ella Hunt

Empire Insurance Group Coaching Excellence – Club
Matthew Holmes, Reabold Tennis Club

PAV Events Coaching Excellence – Talent Development
Ian Ketteringham, Alexander Park Tennis Club

KC Sports Most Outstanding School
Wembley Primary School

State League Champion Men’s Team
Cottesloe Tennis Club

State League Champion Women’s Team
Blue Gum Park Tennis Club

Women’s State League MVP
Kay Leigh Nicholas, North Beach Tennis Club

Men’s State League MVP
Joel Pleydell, Cottesloe Tennis Club

Event Style Most Outstanding AR Tournament
Geraldton Easter Open

Snap Burswood Excellence in Officiating
Deborah Napier

Laing O’Rourke Most Outstanding 35+ Tennis Senior
Kath Taylor, Corinthian Park TC / Tennis Seniors WA

Current Electrical Service Volunteer Achievement Award
Laurie Apps, Fremantle Lawn Tennis Club

HA Young Plumbing Service to Tennis Award
Peter O’Dea, Cottesloe Tennis Club

Sportrophy Most Outstanding Club
Manning Tennis Club


Join the conversation:


Tennis West would like to thank all of the generous sponsors of this event:
Snap Burswood
KC Sports
PAV Events
Empire Insurance Group
HA Young Plumbing
Event Style
Current Electrical Service
Laing O’Rourke.