Melbourne, Australia, 9 December 2022 | Leigh Rogers

A re-energised Nick Kyrgios has been nominated for the Newcombe Medal for the first time in five years.

“It’s great to be nominated for the Newcombe Medal,” said the 27-year-old after scoring the third nomination of his career for the highest individual honour in Australian tennis.

Kyrgios, who won the Newcombe Medal in 2014, has been recognised for finishing the 2022 season as the top-ranked Australian man in both singles and doubles.

Kyrgios’ singles ranking had dipped to world No.137 in February, but he skyrocketed back into the top 20 after a string of strong results.

This included becoming the first Australian man in 19 years to reach a Wimbledon singles final, as well as a career-best US Open quarterfinal run. Kyrgios also scored six top-10 victories and won a seventh career title at Washington.

He finished an incredible season with a 37-10 win-loss record.

“Wimbledon was a highlight this year. There were some really memorable matches,” Kyrgios reflected.

“I think I learned a lot about myself and really developed as a person. I was playing great tennis but even more than that, I made huge strides mentally.”

In doubles, Kyrgios rose from world No.233 at season start to a career-high world No.11. He won the Australian Open title with Thanasi Kokkinakis and was also crowned champion at Atlanta (with Kokkinakis) and Washington (with American Jack Sock). He ended a career-best year competing at the ATP Finals alongside Kokkinakis.

Kyrgios is one of seven nominees for the prestigious Newcombe Medal in 2022, alongside Ash Barty, Alex de Minaur, Matt Ebden, Storm Hunter (nee Sanders), Max Purcell and Ajla Tomljanovic.

The winner will be announced at the Australian Tennis Awards on Monday 12 December.

Newcombe Medal
Honour roll
Year Winner
2021 Ash Barty and Dylan Alcott
2020 Not presented
2019 Ash Barty
2018 Ash Barty and Alex de Minaur
2017 Ash Barty
2016 Dylan Alcott
2015 Sam Groth
2014 Nick Kyrgios
2013 Lleyton Hewitt
2012 Sam Stosur
2011 Sam Stosur
2010 Sam Stosur

> READ: Australian Tennis Awards 2022 finalists revealed

Book online, play today: Visit to get out on court and have some fun!