Darwin, NT, 29 September 2019 | Asher Packman

Wildcard Blake Mott has powered his way to a second consecutive Australian Pro Tour title with a decisive victory over Calum Puttergill in the Darwin International final.

After claiming the Cairns title last week in his first professional tournament back from a two-year hiatus, the former world No.220 took command from outset, holding his unseeded Queensland opponent at bay to secure the match 6-1 6-4.

“This one was pretty special, it’s been a tough week with the heat up here and backing up after a lot of matches in Cairns as well, “Mott said. “It was a really good one to win.”

“I’ve had a really good mindset with taking each match as it comes,” he added. “Just going out there and trying to zone in on every point. That’s really what has paid dividends.”

The 23-year-old couldn’t have asked for a better start to his recent return.

“When you come back and you’re mentally fresh, everything feels quite new again. I think I’ve really stoked up that feeling excitement and I want to just keep on enjoying my tennis. Obviously, it’s been a great two weeks but hopefully it’s just the beginning.”

The women’s final was an altogether different affair with unseeded finalist Abbie Myers – who defeated top seed Zoe Hives in a semifinal – taking it right up to Lizette Cabrera. The Queensland second seed took the opening set, but Myers was far from done, squaring things up at a set apiece, before the world No.184 regained her composure to take the title 6-4 4-6 6-2.

“I’m really excited and happy with the week,” Cabrera said. “Abbie played really well. She was tracking the ball great and I had to be mentally tough to get through it.”

While Mott claimed back-to-back crowns, Cabrera took out both singles and doubles titles in Darwin, partnering for the first time with Destanee Aiava to defeat second seeds Alison Bai and Jaimee Fourlis on Friday.

The men’s doubles title was claimed by the unseeded duo of Brit Bryden Klein and Victorian Dayne Kelly who upset fourth seeds Matthew Romios and Thomas Fancutt.

Live scores of all Australian Pro Tour events are available through www.tennis.com.au/protour/scores and for a live stream of selected events visit www.tennis.com.au/protour. For updates, follow @oztennisresults on Twitter.