New Delhi, Delhi, India, 10 March 2017 |

Tennis Australia has revealed the six players who will represent Australia in the Junior Davis and Fed Cup by BNP Paribas Asia / Oceania Final Qualifying tournament, which will take place in New Delhi.

Rinky Hijikata (Epping, NSW), Stefan Storch (Beaumaris, Vic) and Dane Sweeny (Maroochydore, Qld) will be led by Captain Ben Mathias in the Junior Davis Cup by BNP Paribas qualifier, which starts this Sunday (12 March) at R K Khanna Tennis Stadium, in New Delhi.

In the Junior Fed Cup by BNP Paribas qualifying event, held at the same venue the following week (from March 20-25), Olivia Gadecki (Hollywell, Qld), Amber Marshall (Gulfview Heights, SA) and Tayla Whitehouse (West Beach, SA) will wear the green and gold under the captaincy of Nicole Kriz.

Chinese Taipei heads the 16 teams for the Junior Davis Cup event, with Australia seeded fifth. The remaining seeds are China, Korea, Japan, India, Philippines and Uzbekistan.

Wally Masur, Tennis Australia’s Director of Performance, believes the Junior Davis and Fed Cup will provide the youngsters with a great opportunity to gain invaluable experience on the global stage.

“Some of the world’s best juniors will be in action at the Junior Davis Cup and Fed Cup, so this will be the perfect platform for our boys and girls to test themselves and show what they can do,” he said.

“It’s also a great chance for them to get experience of being in a team environment and representing their country, so I’m sure they will enjoy it and learn a lot.”

Australia boasts a proud record in both the Junior Davis Cup and Junior Fed Cup, the international team competitions for players aged 16 and under. Since the tournaments began in 1985, Australia has won the Junior Davis Cup title six times, most recently in 2009, and the Junior Fed Cup title five times, most recently in 2011.

The Junior Davis Cup / Fed Cup by BNP Paribas Finals will be held in Budapest, Hungary, from 18-23 September 2017.