London, UK, 19 July 2016 |

Australia has been seeded third for the Davis Cup World Group Play-offs on 16-18 September.

The seeding means Australia will be drawn against one of eight unseeded nations – Brazil, Chile, India, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, Ukraine or Uzbekistan – for the play-offs.

The draw will be conducted in London at 10am on Tuesday (7pm AEST).

Australia fell to the United States in the first round of the World Group in March 2016, in a tie staged on grass at Kooyong.

It must win the play-off tie to retain a place in the 16-nation World Group in 2017; a loss would see Australia relegated to the Asia/Oceania Zone Group 1.

The seeded nations for the World Group Play-offs are as follows:

Switzerland (1)
Belgium (2)
Australia (3)
Canada (4)
Kazakhstan (5)
Spain (6)
Germany (7)
Japan (8)