13 July 2015 | tennis.com.au

Nominations are now open for the 2015 Newcombe Medal Australian Tennis Awards.

The Newcombe Medal Australian Tennis Awards celebrates and recognises the performances, achievements and contributions made by members of the tennis family each year and nominations are now open.

In 2014 Nick Kyrgios was awarded Australia’s top tennis honour, the prestigious Newcombe Medal, at a gala celebration at Crown Palladium in Melbourne. He was presented the award by Australian tennis legend John Newcombe, in whose honour the award is named.

The Newcombe Medal is the premier award presented on a night that recognises players, coaches, clubs, communities, volunteers and officials for their service to the sport.

A highlight of the evening’s celebrations was the presentation of the President’s Spirit of Tennis Award to Carol Langsford for her outstanding contribution to the sport. Langsford has been involved with Tennis New South Wales in a range of roles over many decades.

Also honoured was Australia’s 1974 Fed Cup team, commemorating the 40th anniversary of its title win.

Thanasi Kokkinakis was named Male Junior Athlete of the Year, while Victoria’s Destanee Aiava was named Female Junior Athlete of the Year.

Nominations in the following award categories are now being accepted:

  • Coaching Excellence – Club
  • Coaching Excellence – ANZ Tennis Hot Shots
  • Coaching Excellence – Talent Development
  • Junior Athlete of the Year
  • Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability
  • Volunteer Achievement Award
  • 35+ Tennis Senior
  • Most Outstanding Club presented by Medibank
  • Most Outstanding Australian Ranking Tournament
  • Most Outstanding School

Nominations closed.

The 2015 Newcombe Medal Australian Tennis Awards will take place on Monday 23 November 2015.

Criteria and nomination forms for the 2015 Newcombe Medal Australian Tennis Awards are available here.

Find further information on the Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards here.