Melbourne VIC, Australia, 26 January 2015 |

Australian wheelchair tennis legend David Hall will be inducted into the Australian Tennis Hall of Fame during a special ceremony at Rod Laver Arena at 6:30pm tonight.

The winner of a staggering nine Australian Opens, eight US Opens and seven British Opens, Hall is one of the most accomplished wheelchair tennis players in history.

“It is a wonderful honour, especially considering the rich history Australian tennis has had over the years,” Hall said.

“To be thought of as being a small part of that history is very humbling for me. Tennis has given me more than I could ever repay and for that I will always be grateful.”

Born in Sydney, New South Wales, Hall began playing wheelchair tennis at age 19, three years after losing his legs after being hit by a car.

He went on to enjoy a stellar career, completing six seasons atop the world rankings throughout the 1990s and 2000s and triumphing at least once at every major tournament in the sport, finishing his career with 19 Super Series crowns.

His success extends to the Paralympic Games; at Sydney in 2000 he won gold in the singles, then claimed silver at Athens in 2004.

The Australian helped lead his country to four World Team Cups and won two NEC Singles Masters titles, in 2002 and 2004.

He was also adept in doubles, becoming world No.1 for the first time in 1994 and finishing his career with an impressive 397-89 win-loss record.

Since retiring in 2006 Hall has dedicated himself to promoting wheelchair tennis. He is the Optus Australia Wheelchair Ambassador and also sits on the selection panel for Australia’s Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability as part of the Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards.

He mentors athletes within the New South Wales Wheelchair Tennis program, and in 2010 was appointed a Wheelchair Tennis Ambassador by the International Tennis Federation.

Previous Australian Tennis Hall of Fame inductees:

2014: Kerry Reid

2013: Judy Dalton

2012: Ken Fletcher

2011: Owen Davidson

2010: Mark Woodforde, Todd Woodbridge

2009: Wendy Turnbull

2008: Pat Rafter

2007: Mark Edmondson

2006: Daphne Akhurst

2005: Australian Open Centenary

2004: Brian Tobin

2003: Pat Cash

2002: Mervyn Rose, Thelma (Coyne) Long

2001: Mal Anderson, Nancye (Wynne) Bolton

2000: Ken McGregor

1999: Australia inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame

1998: John Newcombe, Tony Roche, Lesley (Turner) Bowrey, Adrian Quist

1997: Fred Stolle, Jack Crawford, Gerald Patterson

1996: Frank Sedgman, John Bromwich, Sir Norman Brookes, Ashley Cooper, Harry Hopman

1995: Lew Hoad, Ken Rosewall

1994: Roy Emerson, Evonne Goolagong Cawley, Neale Fraser

1993: Rod Laver, Margaret Smith (Court)