Melbourne, Australia, 2 October 2012 | Tennis Australia

The Australian summer of tennis, and the lead-in to Australian Open 2013, will for the first time start in China, with the inaugural Asia-Pacific Australian Open Wildcard Play-off taking place in Nanjing in October.

The winners in both singles and doubles will be awarded coveted wildcards into the Australian Open, Grand Slam of Asia-Pacific.

The Australian Open Play-off at Melbourne Park will continue to offer two emerging Aussie players the chance to win a wildcard into Australian Open 2013.

The Australian Open Wildcard Play-off will take place during the December Showdown, which also includes national junior championships for all age groups – 12/u, 14/u, 16/u and 18/u.

Also set for December is the third annual Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards, designed to recognise and reward both elite players and the unsung heroes of our sport.

The Australian Open Series kicks off just before the New Year at the spectacular Perth Arena for the 25th Hyundai Hopman Cup, closely followed by the Brisbane International, with all events designed to engage the community at all levels.

The full Australian Open Series and other summer of tennis events are as follows:

Hyundai Hopman Cup

Dates: 29 December 2012–5 January 2013
Venue: Perth Arena, Perth, WA
2012 champions: Czech Republic – Petra Kvitova and Tomas Berdych
Event Director: Steve Ayles
Deputy Event Director: Paul Kilderry
Social media: @hopmancup
Media contact: Rosita Stangl, [email protected] +61 (0)409 117 157

Brisbane International

Dates: 30 December 2012–6 January 2013
Venue: Queensland Tennis Centre, King Arthur Terrace, Tennyson, Qld
Defending champions
Men’s singles – Andy Murray (GBR)
Women’s singles – Kaia Kanepi (EST)
Men’s doubles – Max Mirnyi (BLR) and Daniel Nestor (CAN)
Women’s doubles – Nuria Llagostera Vives (ESP) and Arantxa Parra Santonja (ESP)
Tournament Director: Cameron Pearson
Social media: @BrisbaneTennis
Media contact: Sarah-Lucy Rice, [email protected] +61(0)432 001 248

Apia International Sydney

Dates: 6–12 January 2013
Venue: Sydney Olympic Park Tennis Centre, Rod Laver Drive, Sydney Olympic Park, Sydney, NSW
Defending champions
Men’s singles – Jarkko Nieminen (FIN)
Women’s singles – Victoria Azarenka (BLR)
Men’s doubles – Bob Bryan (USA) and Mike Bryan (USA)
Women’s doubles – Kveta Peschke (CZE) and Katarina Srebotnik (SLO)
Tournament Director: Craig Watson
Social media: @SydneyTennis
Media contact: Tiffany Robertson, [email protected] +61(0)2 9024 7703

AAMI Classic Kooyong

Dates: 9–12 January 2013
Venue: Kooyong, Melbourne
Media contact: Marie Kelley, +61(0)417 168019

Moorilla Hobart International

Dates: 4–12 January 2013
Venue: Domain Tennis Centre, Hobart, Tas
Defending champions:
Singles – Mona Barthel (GER)
Doubles – Irina-Camelia Begu (ROU) and Monica Niculescu (ROU)
Tournament Director: Mark Handley
Social media: @HobartTennis
Media contact: Harriet Rendle, [email protected] +61(0)432 001 249

World Tennis Challenge

Dates: 8–10 January 2013
Venue: Memorial Drive, Adelaide, SA
Defending champions: Team USA – John McEnroe and Tommy Haas
Tournament Directors: Mark Woodforde and Roger Rasheed
Social media: @WTC_Adelaide
Media contact: Sue Hill, [email protected] +61(0)418 822 629

Other tennis events

Asia-Pacific Australian Open Wildcard Play-off
Dates: 15–21 October 2012
Venue: National Tennis Academy of China, Nanjing Sport Institute
Tournament Director: Alistair MacDonald
Social media: @AustralianOpen

Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards
Dates: Monday 3 December 2012
Venue: Crown Palladium
Social media: @TennisAustralia
Media contact: Sarah-Lucy Rice, [email protected] +61(0)432 001 248

December Showdown, including Australian Open Wildcard Play-off
December Showdown: 28 November 2012–21 December 2012
AO Play-off: 11–16 December 2012
Venue: Melbourne Park, Batman Ave, Melbourne, Vic
Tournament Director: Francis Soyer
Social media: @TennisAustralia
Events: Including Optus National Championships in 12/u, 14/u, 16/u, 18/u
Media contact: Harriet Rendle, [email protected] +61 (0)432 001 249

Series tickets for Australian Open 2013 go on sale through Ticketek from 9:00 am on Wednesday 3 October to 5:00 pm Sunday 7 October (AEDST).

Rod Laver Arena and Hisense Arena single session tickets and Australian Open ground passes are on sale from 9:00 am (AEDST) Monday 8 October.

The great value $34 Australian Open ground pass gives fans access to all the outside courts and free entertainment on Grand Slam Oval and in Garden Square.

Fans are encouraged to pre-purchase and save on tickets for Australian Open 2013. Tournament pricing applies to all tickets purchased from Monday 14 January.