Melbourne, Victoria, 4 April 2011 | Tennis Australia

The search for the best possible team of MLC Ballkid volunteers for Australian Open 2012 saw 23 tennis venues across Victoria playing host to the selection process over the past three weeks.

Tennis Australia received more than 1,500 online MLC Ballkid volunteer applications on from 17 January to 13 February 2011, from which a team of more than 300 will be selected for Australian Open 2012.

Over 80 Tennis Australia coach members, club volunteers and Tennis Australia representatives were on the lookout for children with a keen interest in and knowledge of the game of tennis, good ball-handling skills and great enthusiasm.

“The MLC Ballkid volunteer program is very unique in that it engages directly with Tennis Australia coach members, tennis clubs and facilities, and of course the children aspiring to be a part of the Australian Open,” said Tennis Australia’s Tennis Operations Coordinator Darren Sturgess.

“Tennis Australia coach members and tennis clubs involved have a direct impact on the children that ultimately become MLC Ballkid volunteers at the Australian Open.

“The MLC Ballkid volunteer Level 1 Selection Trials provides a great opportunity for introducing children into tennis.  The coach has the opportunity to promote their services and sign up some new kids to their coaching programs and the club can showcase the great facility on offer,” Sturgess added.

Tennis Australia would like to thank the following Tennis Australia coach members and tennis venues for hosting the selection trials:

1.    Tennis World Albert Reserve  – Glenn Kellett
2.    Ballarat – Geoff Reese
3.    Chadstone – Alison Leydin
4.    Colac Indoor Tennis Centre – Michael Mullen
5.    Croydon North – Brad Guan
6.    East Camberwell – David Close
7.    East Malvern – Wes Horskins
8.    Eildon Park, Rowville – Lee Pearson
9.    Greenvale – Tim Connelly
10.    Eaglemont – Shane Scrutton
11.    Keon Park, Reservoir  – Chris Costas
12.    Kilmore – Gavin Moreira
13.    Knox, Wantirna South – Gary Leech
14.    Nottinghill Pinewood, Glen Waverley – Duncan Sillato
15.    Mayfield, Mt Waverley – Brad Hasler
16.    Melton South – Danielle Borle
17.    Royal South Yarra – Julian O’Donnell
18.    St Mary’s, Greensborough – Chris Costas
19.    St Paul’s Apostle, Endeavour Hills – Sarath Dias Jayasinha
20.    Sunshine Park – Craig Vaughan
21.    Wangaratta – Peter Lumsden
22.    Warrandyte – Craig Haslam
23.    Yarrawonga – Jon Coleman

Successful applicants will progress to the next stage of the selection trials to be hosted at Melbourne Park in mid-May.