5 January 2020 | Tennis Victoria

Goulburn has successfully defended their title at the 64th Inter-regional Country Championships hosted at the Mildura Lawn Tennis Club over the weekend.

The win makes it four in a row for the region after winning the 2017, 2018 and 2019 titles.

The 2020 edition of the Tennis Victoria Inter-regional Country Championships saw more than 250 players participate in Mildura for the three-day tournament, completing over 600 matches throughout.

With an extremely talented squad, boosted by the inclusion of women’s open No.1 seed Eliza Long, the Goulburn team ultimately reigned supreme after playing high-quality tennis across the weekend.

Men’s Open singles winner, Jarrod Bingham (Goulburn), was pleased with the region’s domination.

“It is great, we have got a really good core group of people who come back each year,” Bingham said.

“It is a really good team atmosphere and it is great seeing so many people in purple shirts out on the final day.

“Everyone did really well for the team which is great.

“It was an interesting (tournament) with different weather each day but it is a good three-day weekend and we did well to get through considering the weather challenges we had,” he said.

Players were forced to battle changing weather conditions throughout the tournament, with matches on Friday being abandoned due to heat, and light rain gracing the courts on Sunday.

Tournament Director, Shelly Hart, credited all regions on the quality of tennis played over the weekend.

“We are extremely happy with the quality of tennis that was played across the weekend and want to congratulate Goulburn on another win,” Hart said.

“(Inter-regionals) is always a great event and this year was no different.

“I want to thank all the players and supporters for playing within the spirit of the game, and of course their patience over the three days, particularly with the challenging weather conditions,” she said.

Congratulations to each of the regions that participated, and a special mention to Goulburn on winning their fourth consecutive title.


  1. Goulburn – 347.00
  2. Loddon Campaspe – 222.00
  3. Northern Mallee – 167.00
  4. South West – 154.00
  5. Wimmera – 153.00
  6. Mornington Peninsula – 150.00
  7. Barwon – 124.00
  8. Central Highlands – 100.00

CLICK HERE to view winners & finalists images