20 November 2023 | Tennis Victoria

The 2023 Tennis Victoria Premier League Grand Final took centre stage at Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club Stadium on the weekend, treating the lively crowd to some elite tennis action.

In the men’s division, MCC Glen Iris Valley went through the home-and-away season undefeated. They were joined by Grace Park Hawthorn Club, who fended off stern challenges from Royal South Yarra and Fawkner to book their spot in the decider. MCC Glen Iris Valley also featured in the women’s grand final against Hume, looking to replicate their 2022 title success.

Men’s Grand Final

The star-studded doubles pairing of Aaron Addison and Matthew Romios dominated early for MCC Glen Iris Demons, racing to a 6-1 first set lead. However, Frank Moser and Adam Hubble slowly wrestled control towards Grace Park Aces. After a tight second set, they triumphed 6-4 to force the rubber to a deciding match tiebreak. The experienced Grace Park Hawthorn Club duo then showed their composure to win 10-6 and give their side a 1-0 lead.

An enthralling No.1 singles clash was set up next. Premier League Ace Award winner James Watt aimed to seal the flag for Grace Park Aces, while top 500 ATP player Jake Delaney looked to square things for MCC Glen Iris Demons. But Watt imposed his powerful game from the outset, pounding winners and a barrage of huge serves in a sublime display. He breezed to a 6-0 6-2 win in one of the best Premier League grand final performances seen in years.

In the final clash, Chase Ferguson sealed the clean sweep for Grace Park with a comfortable 6-1 6-2 victory against Omar Fields at No.2 singles.

2023 Premier League Men’s Ace Award winner: James Watt

Women’s Grand Final

MCC Glen Iris Demons entered as firm favourites and showed why early, notching a strong doubles victory. Despite spirited resistance from Hume Viclander’s Leann Serna and Bianca Compuesto, MCC’s Zoe Hives and Alana Parnaby were too good, winning 6-1 6-2.

Another blockbuster No.1 singles match-up saw MCC’s Ace Award winner Jaimee Fourlis take on Hume’s Kaylah McPhee, also just outside the WTA top 500. Despite losing to Fourlis recently, McPhee looked composed early and snatched the first set 6-3. She had chances to seal it in straights, but Fourlis fought back to level at one set all with a 6-3 second set. The tense match tiebreak went down to the wire, Fourlis finally prevailing 10-8 on her third match point to clinch the premiership for MCC.

In the final clash, Hume’s Tenika McGiffin took the first set tiebreak before the rubber was abandoned with the Demon’s already claiming victory.

To catch-up on more Premier League Grand Final day action, visit our Tennis Victoria Instagram.

2023 Premier League Women’s Ace Award winner: Jaimee Fourlis

Before the Grand Final matches commenced, the annual Tennis Victoria Premier League awards were presented:

Premier League Ace Awards for most consistent high performances: Jaimee Fourlis (MCC Glen Iris Valley Demons) and James Watt (Grace Park Hawthorn Club Aces)

Paul Arber Memorial Award recognising the fairest and best player under 25: Luke Sorensen (Hume) and Tenika McGiffin (Hume)

Community Engagement Awards: MCC Glen Iris Valley Tennis Club and Grace Park Hawthorn Club.

If you missed the action on Saturday and want to catch up you can do so on Kayo Freebies. Search for Victorian Tennis Premier League and you can watch the streams of all of the Men’s and Women’s matches.¬†