10 January 2022 | Tennis Victoria

Goulburn has won the 66th Inter-Regional Country Championships, staged in the Wimmera Region at Horsham Lawn Tennis Club last weekend.

The region was boosted by solid performances in the Women’s Open Doubles, Open Mixed Doubles and junior age groups, setting up the victory to claim back the trophy from Barwon Tennis Region, who won 12 months ago in Warrnambool.

Mornington Peninsula were highlighted as huge improvers from the last 12 months and received the most improved region award.

Thank you to the Horsham Lawn Tennis Club, the Horsham Rural City Council and the Wimmera Region for hosting a fantastic tennis event.



Event Winner(s) Region Finalists Region
Mixed 50 + Doubles David Starling/Judy Buzza Goulburn Michael Smyth/Leanne More Loddon Campaspe
Women’s 50+ Doubles Fairlie Lamond/Sue Walter South West Judy Buzza/Gail Cannon Goulburn
Men’s 50+ Doubles Colin Mackay/David Starling Goulburn Shane Gillespie/Michael Smyth Loddon Campaspe
Women’s 50+ Singles Leanne More Loddon Campaspe Judy Buzza Goulburn
Men’s 50+ Singles Rod Wilson Mornington Peninsula David Starling Goulburn
Mixed 30-49 Doubles Matthew Moloney/Kate-Maree Barnes South West Jayd Davis/Danielle Bowles Loddon Campaspe
Women’s 30-49 Doubles Danielle Bowles/Bronwyn Osborne Loddon Campaspe Kate-Maree Barnes/Carlyn Spencer South West
Men’s 30-49 Doubles Darren Gladman/Matthew Moloney South West Jeff Friberg/Graeme Wood Wimmera
Women’s 30-49 Singles Kate-Maree Barnes South West Danielle Bowles Loddon Campaspe
Men’s 30-49 Singles Matthew Moloney South West Sam McHarg Goulburn
Mixed 25/U Doubles Deagan Tomkins/Kirrily Mcconachy Loddon Campaspe/Barwon Tom Gedye/Jessica Swarbrick South West
Women’s 25/U Doubles Tegan Marshall/Mikaela Mullen Barwon Willow Sainsbury/Jessica Swarbrick South West
Women’s 25/U Singles Willow Sainsbury South West Tegan Marshall Barwon
Men’s 25/U Singles Jaime Heaton Barwon Nicholas Gattuso Goulburn
Girls 18/U Doubles Jordyn Aitken/Kirrily Mcconachy Barwon Clara Lukies/Ella Rohde Goulburn
Boys 18/u Doubles Zac Dyson/Tom Geyde South West Nicholas Damianopoulos/Liam Williams Goulburn
Mixed 18/u Doubles Joshua Dean Bavich/Marli Pymer Loddon Campaspe/Wimmera Jack Remilton/Jordyn Aitken Barwon
Girls 18/u Singles Kirrily Mcconachy Barwon Megan Clare O’Beirne Central Highlands
Boy’s 18/u Singles Tom Gedye South West Joshua Dean Bavich Loddon Campaspe
Girl’s 16/u Doubles Tahlia Thompson/Gemma Walker Wimmera Olivia Remilton/Rebekah Schoenmakers Barwon
Boy’s 16/u Doubles Jack Bassett/Zach Ranson Goulburn Logan Casey/Connor Chivell Wimmera
Mixed 16/u Doubles Logan Casey/Tahlia Thompson Wimmera Jarrod Dungey/Charlotte Dungey Mornington Peninsula
Girl’s 16/u Singles Tahlia Thompson Wimmera Jenna Gleeson Central Highlands
Boy’s 16/u Singles Jack Bassett Goulburn Logan Casey Wimmera
Girl’s 14/u Doubles Lucy Bassett/Jinaya Nurse Goulburn Georgia Carr/Matilda Sutherland Barwon
Boy’s 14/u Doubles Thomas Ranson/Alex Ryan Goulburn Dylan Cummins/Nik Salah Mornington Peninsula
Mixed 14/u Doubles Thomas Ranson/Lucy Bassett Goulburn Nathan Broad/Hannah O’Brien Loddon Campaspe
Girl’s 14/u Singles Jinaya Nurse Goulburn Matilda Sutherland Barwon
Boy’s 14/u Singles Max Phillips South West Thomas Ranson Goulburn
Girl’s 12/u Doubles Adele Joseph/Emma Streeter Wimmera Rielle Armstrong/Willow Kelly Loddon Campaspe
Boy’s 12/u Doubles Ren Asai/George Wills Central Highlands Christopher Gamboa/John Carlo Gamboa Loddon Campaspe
Mixed 12/u Doubles Christopher Gamboa/Rielle Armstrong Loddon Campaspe George Wills/Lotti MacDonald Central Highlands
Girl’s 12/u Singles Aria Henare Goulburn Willow Kelly Loddon Campaspe
Boy’s 12/u Singles George Wills Central Highlands Ren Asai Central Highlands
Open Mixed Doubles Jarrod Bingham/Eliza Long Goulburn Daniel Stormon/Jayme Waites East Gippsland
Women’s Open Doubles Hope Curtis-Mcdonald/Eliza Long Goulburn Bianca Duff/Nicole Mullen Barwon
Men’s Open Doubles Mitchell Allman/Daniel Stormon East Gippsland James Curtis-Mcdonald/David Poole Goulburn
Women’s Open Singles Isabella Crossman Loddon Campaspe Eliza Long Goulburn
Men’s Open Singles Daniel Stormon East Gippsland David Poole Goulburn


2. BARWON 214
5. WIMMERA 181

  • Goulburn wins the Championship
  • Mornington Peninsula wins most improved region award