17 September 2021 | Tennis Victoria

Tennis Victoria are proud to announce the finalists for the 2021 Victorian Tennis Awards.

After a year’s hiatus due to COVID-19 restrictions, we look forward to celebrating the outstanding achievements and contributions both on and off the court.

The awards will be presented virtually on Tuesday 19 October. It’s been a long two year wait to recognise the amazing contributions being made to Victorian Tennis across all categories. Panels were blown away by the achievements of all nominees in what has been and continues to be a challenging period for all.

Tennis Victoria Acting CEO Adam Crameri is looking forward to recognizing the incredible efforts of the Victorian tennis community during this difficult period for community sport.

“Well done to all of our finalists for the 2021 Victorian Tennis Awards, we have faced many challenges as a Victorian tennis community across the last 18 months and to see what each of these finalists have done to drive and support tennis in Victoria within their area across this period is remarkable. We look forward to celebrating and recognising all finalists in October”

Winners of the Victorian Tennis Awards are then eligible to be nominated for the Australian Tennis Awards, also known as the Newcombe Medal.

Please find the full list of finalists below:

Most Outstanding Club or Centre

  • Coburg Tennis Club
  • Fawkner Park Tennis Centre
  • Hume Tennis and Community Centre

Coaching Excellence – Club or Centre      

  • Aidan Fitzgerald – GIANT Tennis South Bendigo TC, Castlemaine Lawn TC, Strathfieldsaye TC, Maiden Gully TC
  • Tina Keown – Victorian Tennis Academy Fawkner Park Tennis Centre, Powlett Reserve Tennis Centre, Oakleigh TC
  • Vicky Lee – Slamin Tennis and Fitness Pty. Ltd. Doncaster TC

Volunteer Achievement

  • Adam Betts (Viewbank TC)
  • Liz Tektonopoulos (Greenvale TC)
  • Malcolm Baron (Hadfield TC)

Supporting Tennis – Local Government Award

  • Brimbank City Council
  • Hobsons Bay City Council
  • Mitchell Shire Council
  • Yarriambiack Shire Council

Most Outstanding Tournament

  • 2021 ALC TA Mornington Peninsula Easter Gold AMT + 18/U
  • Warrnambool Lawn Open 2020
  • Yarrawonga Easter Tournament

Most Outstanding School  

  • Aitken Creek Primary School
  • Christ Church Grammar School
  • Syndal South Primary School

Most Outstanding Inclusion Initiative 

  • Advantage Autism – The Au-Tastic Tennis Program
  • BSRV Blind Tennis program
  • Women’s Tennis Week

Most Outstanding 30+ Tennis Senior      

  • Glenn Busby
  • Bert Faux
  • Jill Meggs

Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability

  • Olivia Sayers
  • Ryder Smith
  • Sally Schwartz
  • Riley Dumsday

Junior Athlete of the Year – Male  

  • Cooper Errey
  • Cooper White
  • Enzo Aguiard

Junior Athlete of the Year – Female      

  • Isabella Crossman
  • Roisin Gilheany
  • Steffi Webb

Excellence in Officiating

  • Eva Bettiol
  • Geoff Weldon
  • Rowena Sheung