29 October 2020 | Tennis Victoria

Tennis Victoria is pleased to announce the appointment of Jacqueline Pirone as President. This follows Professor Emma Sherry deciding to step down from the role. Emma will stay on the Tennis Victoria Board as a Director.

Professor Sherry said, “It has been an honour and a privilege to lead this amazing organisation and team, particularly as the first female President of Tennis Victoria.”

“I am delighted to be handing over the Presidency to Jacqui. I congratulate her on her appointment and look forward to continuing to work with her in the future.”

Elected to the Presidency by the Tennis Victoria Board, Jacqueline Pirone is an Ombudsman with significant corporate and government experience in private practice and as in-house counsel in insurance and commercial services. After 2 years as a member of Tennis Victoria’s Audit and Risk Committee, Jacqui was appointed to the Tennis Victoria Board in December 2019.

“I am thrilled and proud to be appointed to the role of Tennis Victoria President. I look forward to leading the Board, working together with Tennis Victoria’s Chief Executive, affiliates and stakeholders, to create a bright future for our great game. Like many, COVID-19 has impacted our sport and it is so important that we work together to ensure tennis can return safely and continue to grow across the state”, Pirone said.

Jacqui will be supported by a new Vice President, Kathryn Jolly. Kathryn has been a member of the Tennis Victoria Board since October 2018 and is Chair of the Tennis Victoria Competitive Play Committee.

“I am honoured to have been appointed to the role of Vice President of Tennis Victoria. I am looking forward to working closely with Jacqui to support her, the Board and our Chief Executive as we deliver the new Tennis Victoria strategy.”

The Tennis Victoria Board:

Jacqueline Pirone – President
Kathryn Jolly – Vice President and Chair Competitive Play Committee
Phil Crouch – Treasurer
Simon Meadows – Director and Chair Country Advisory Group
Caryle Demarte – Director
Emma Sherry – Director
Anna Speedie – Director
Virginia Wallace – Director