1 November 2017 | Tennis Victoria

The Boroondara Tennis Centre has received high praise during the Tennis Victoria Champions Dinner, announced as the Most Outstanding Club or Centre for 2017.

At the annual Tennis Victoria Champions Dinner, all ten categories for the Victorian Tennis Awards were announced in the company of Victorian tennis’ elite athletes, coaches, administrators and volunteers.

After finishing as a finalist the year before, the Boroondara Tennis Centre was able to go one better this year and claim the coveted award.

Accepting the award was the Director of the Boroondara Tennis Centre, Warren Maher. He was delighted to accept the award and paid tribute to the wonderful people around the facility that make it special.

“It’s obviously very exciting to be the recipient of this award and from my own personal point of view it’s a great opportunity to thank everyone who has been involved,” Maher said.

“It’ll be exciting for a lot of people to know we were fortunate enough to win and I’m sure a lot of people will be very pleased for us and support us going forward.”

Hosted by Ian Cover, the night saw more than 400 guests converge next to the picturesque Albert Park Lake. Also in attendance on the night were the Hon. John Eren (Minister for Sport); tennis legends Judy Dalton, Neale Fraser, John Fitzgerald and Todd Woodbridge and former Victorian Premier John Cain.

Every year the prestigious Victorian Spirit of Tennis award is presented to a person who has made a significant and valuable contribution to the advancement or popularity of the sport in any field, including: journalism, media, tournament management, general management at a national or state level, international management, supporting, coaching or playing.

This year, Mr John Cain was acknowledged with the Victorian Spirit of Tennis award for his integral involvement in the redevelopment of Flinders Park (now known as Melbourne Park), which is now widely regarded as the world’s leading sports and entertainment precinct.

Now boasting three stadiums with a retractable roof, an architectural masterpiece in AAMI Park, state-of-the-art training facilities and multiple function spaces – his vision for Melbourne as a sporting and entertainment hub is unrivalled.

Rising stars Destanee Aiava and Jaimee Fourlis, fresh from their pivotal roles in assisting at the official 2018 Australian Open launch, were announced as joint winners of the Junior Athlete of the Year (Female) award.

Starting off the season in incredible fashion, both girls were awarded wildcards into the 2017 Australian Open – with Aiava becoming the first player born in the 2000s to play in the main draw of a Grand Slam. Matthew Dellavedova was also named Junior Athlete of the Year (Male) following a stellar performance in winning the 2016 16/u Australian Championships.

It was a night of full of good news stories as Shirley Peake from Moomba Park Tennis Club was recognised with the Volunteer Achievement award. While Gippsland Grammar won the Most Outstanding School following their consistent promotion of tennis at a local level for students.


2017 Victorian Tennis Awards

Most Outstanding Club or Centre
Boroondara Tennis Centre

Volunteer Achievement
Shirley Peake

Supporting Tennis – Local Government Recognition
Brimbank City Council

Most Outstanding School
Gippsland Grammar

Most Outstanding Tournament
Melbourne Wheelchair Tennis Open 2017

Junior Athlete of the Year (Female)
Destanee Aiava and Jaimee Fourlis

Junior Athlete of the Year (Male)
Matthew Dellavedova

Coaching Excellence Club or Centre
Rufus Keown

Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability
Dylan Alcott and Heath Davidson

Most Outstanding 35+ Tennis Senior
Glenn Busby

Victorian Spirit of Tennis Award 
Mr. John Cain

Check out the photo album from the night here.