13 September 2017 | Tennis ACT

Adult Pennant continued to be a hit for the 2017 Winter season with a total of 92 teams participating in the Monday, Thursday and Saturday Competitions.

The Monday Night Pennant finals were held at Tennis World Canberra and Belconnen Tennis Club on Monday 28th of August.  Teams battled the cold on the night with Jerrabomberra Tennis Club taking out the division 1 final against ANU 2.

The match of the night, the Division 3 Red final resulted in the rare draw with the Eastlake Tennis Club and Melba Tennis Club ending as 3 sets all 30 games .The match was scheduled to be replayed but due to weather conditions the match was not able to go ahead.

The Thursday Night Pennant finals were held on Thursday 31st of August. Two Weston Creek teams battled it out to take the Division 1 final with Weston Creek 1 taking the win. Campbell Tennis Club teams fought it out in Division 2, with Campbell Tennis Club 2 the victors.

The Spring season of pennant commenced on the 3rd of September with the Saturday Pennant competition.  The Monday/Tuesday and Thursday Night Competitions starting the week of the 11th of September.

Canberra based podiatry chain, The Walking Clinic, has now confirmed a two-year partnership with Tennis ACT as Major Supporter of Adult Pennant.  Click here for more information on the partnership.

Monday Night Division Results:                                                                                      

Division Winner Runner-up
Division 1 Jerrabomberra Tennis Club ANU 2
Division 2 Red Kaleen Tennis Club Campbell Tennis Club
Division 2 Blue Kaleen Tennis Club Yarralumla Tennis Club
Division 3 Red Kaleen Tennis Club 2 Forrest Tennis Club 1
Division 3 Blue Eastlake Tennis Club

Melba Tennis Club

Division 4 Red Turner Tennis Club O’Connor Tennis Club
Division 4 Blue Melba Tennis Club 1 O’Connor Tennis Club

Thursday Night Division Results: 

Division Winner Runner-up
Division 1 Weston Creek Tennis Club 1 Weston Creek Tennis Club 2
Division 2 Campbell Tennis Club 2 Campbell Tennis Club 1
Division 3 Melba Tennis Club 1 Forrest Tennis Club 2
Division 4 Jerrabomberra Tennis Club Yarralumla Tennis Club

 Saturday Pennant Final:

Winner Runner-up
Weston Creek Tennis Club Forrest Tennis Club 1