Pizzey Cup

The Pizzey Cup, which is the School Sports Australian 18 and under Championships sees the best ACT players challenge themselves against the best players in Australia.

The Pizzey Cup is now a national competition with all eight states and territories competing. The team based competition has a long and proud tradition with many of Australia finest players beginning their international careers at this event.

For further information about School Sports Australia tennis competitions, please visit their website.

Pizzey Cup 2019

The 2019 Pizzey Cup will be held in Adelaide from 4-11 May.  The team has been selected and can be found here.

Pizzey Cup 2018

The 2018 Pizzey Cup was held in Brisbane from 29 April to 5 May.  A recap of the teams performance can be found here

Draw: To view the 2018 Pizzey Cup results click here

Singles Draw: To view the 2018 Tennis Australia Cup Boys and Girls Singles Draws click here


The Jack Pizzey Cup was inaugurated in 1963 with the then Queensland Minister for Education, the Rt. Hon. Jack Charles Allan Pizzey donating the trophy. Jack Pizzey was a secondary school teacher and became Premier of Queensland on 17th January 1968 until his sudden and untimely death on 31st July of that year. The Jack Pizzey Cup became the national schools tennis championships for secondary schools and superseded the Bruce Cup, which had been inaugurated in 1938. The Bruce Cup then became the trophy for the national primary schools championships.

The competition was intended to include all States of Australia, but until 1978 the Jack Pizzey Cup was only conducted between New South Wales and Queensland. Mr Alan Cook, Life Member of the QSSA, was instrumental in the foundation of the Pizzey Cup. In those early years it was his foresight, direction and perseverance that kept the Pizzey Cup an active competition. During this time many leading Australian players including Wendy Turnbull, Evonne Cawley, John Alexander, Phil Dent, Mark Edmondson and Ross Case competed in this event.

In 1978 the Pizzey Cup was played in Melbourne in conjunction with the Federation Cup, and for the first time it was contested on an Australia wide basis. This was made possible with sponsorship by Bancroft, which was then a subsidiary company of Colgate-Palmolive Australia, and the drive and determination of Alan Basford. The format of the competition changed slightly to include not only the team event, but also an individual singles. The inaugural Australian Secondary Schools Singles Championships (then known as the Bancroft Cup) was won by Peter Doohan (NSW) and Elizabeth Little (VIC).

In 1980 Colgate-Palmolive took complete responsibility for the event and the singles Championships became known as the Colgate Cup. 1994 saw the entry of McDonald’s Tennis Australia and Tennis Australia as sponsors of the event and the singles event was then known as the McDonald’s Cup. The plate event of the individual event was named in honour of the late Kevin Horrigan, a great stalwart of schools tennis. 1997 saw Tennis Australia stand alone as sponsors of the championship singles event.

Since 1978 most of Australia’s top players have competed in the Pizzey Cup, including Wally Masur, Ann and Liz Minter, Jenny Byrne, Simon Youl, Mark Woodforde, John Frawley, Richard Fromberg, Patrick Rafter, Sam Stosur and Casey Dellacqua to mention just a few.